Camellias: the wondrous winter flower in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 10, 2016, 4:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a beautiful little book published in 1870 entitled “Flowers: Their Language and Poetry.” I can’s remember where I bought it. I think it was the used books place I used to frequent a lot. It’s a little treasure of a book, filled with descriptions, history and poetry selections about flowers. There is one color illustration of a bouquet of flowers at the beginning of the book, separated from the next page by one of those delicate tissue-like pieces of paper common in books printed a century or so ago. The unknown author writes of the Camellia japonica, which will be blooming gloriously everywhere here starting about now:

“Everybody will willingly acknowledge the Camellia, or Rose of Japan, to be one of the most lovely floral beauties ever introduced into this country…This beautiful blossom, expressing ‘thou art my heart’s sovereign,’ was first introduced into Europe in 1639 and derives it’s name from a Jesuit monk, Joseph Kamel, or as it is generally Latinized into, Camellus….”

And this from the book, ‘These lovely flowers, as Mrs. Sigourney says, ‘put forth such blaze of beauty/as translates to dullest hearts their dialect of love.’

Needless to say, I have been photographing camellias at Magnolia gardens and Charles Towne Landing lately, as they have simply covered the ancient bushes at these gardens. We all love flowers and have our favorites. Who can deny the exquisite beauty of irises and roses? The cheerful yellow radiance of daffodils in Spring? The gorgeous reds, pinks and whites of azaleas which bloom in profusion here in March and April. The azalea is my favorite because of my long association with them going back to my early youth. However, one can’t help but be simply in awe of the camellia and it’s varieties. Here the Sasanqua camellia blooms earliest and most abundantly. They will be ending their run soon, to be replaced by the Japonica and other varieties.

What’s so amazing and astounding about these flowers is that they only bloom in Fall and winter. In fact, their peak bloom time is the middle of winter. They can deal with really cold temperatures below freezing in the South, and they thrive in the Charleston area. Magnolia Gardens has many historic varieties of the plant.

Here are some recent photos of this beautiful flower taken on Dec. 3:

DSC_1515

DSC_1520

DSC_1535

DSC_1537

DSC_1538

DSC_1540

DSC_1542

DSC_1548

DSC_1484


=bernard= December 10, 2016

Believe it or not but, I have that same little book. It was a gift from my grandmother and before it was given to her, it was a gift from a neighbor to his fiancee. And as I am thinking about it I am going to have to look for it.

Oswego =bernard= ⋅ December 10, 2016

That is all quite amazing!

ConnieK December 10, 2016

Beautiful entry, beautiful photos. I must return to Bok Tower to see the abundance of camellias there.

ODSago ConnieK ⋅ December 10, 2016

ConnieK...just a surprise to read this because I am going to Bok Tower Monday...

ConnieK ODSago ⋅ December 10, 2016

Oh, what fun! I'm writing an article on Bok Tower for the March/April edition of Senior Living Magazine and need to revisit the place. Enjoy your walk!

ODSago ConnieK ⋅ December 11, 2016

I live in Maitland and the garden club I belong to (Sweetwater Oaks) is visiting the Christmas House Tour for our holiday meeting. You might find that tour interesting for the article. Just a thought.

ConnieK ODSago ⋅ December 11, 2016

Oh! That sounds interesting. Don't know if I'll have time before the holiday to go on the tour but definitely worth a mention. Thanks for the tip!

ODSago December 10, 2016

I will miss my camellias...taller than the top of my head, and some miniatures, too. None here...YET. Love the photos.

Deleted user December 10, 2016

Beautiful photos, thank you.

middle age pearl December 13, 2016

Beautiful!

Eriu December 13, 2016

Just seeing the pictures can lighten spirits - seeing them in reality must be breathtaking!

Marg December 19, 2016

It's lovely to find colourful flowers in the depths of winter when we encounter the darkest days. Gorgeous photos as ever!

seafarer December 26, 2016

Lovely! I have a huge pink camellia in the backyard of the beach house. It is quite lovely right now. I haven't even taken a pic of it, must do so!!!

Oswego seafarer ⋅ December 27, 2016

I can never get enough of camellias! :-)

Deleted user February 03, 2017

I always wonder if they would grow in a pot :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.