O Captain My Captain in Transition

  • Dec. 8, 2016, 8:51 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The captain of my roller derby team has just sent me a very nice message. Currently, I’m on the B team and not eligible to play in any big official games such as the British Champs. Our B team is very small and we’ve only ever had enough players to play ONE official game to get us in the UK rankings. The rest of the time, we’re just playing friendly mixed games around the country, which can be demoralising when we’ve got nothing to really work towards. To get onto the A team, you have to come to a certain number of practices each month and really show them that you’re capable with your skills, drive and determination. Get yourself noticed, and then the board can vote to promote you (the head of training, the team captain, the coach etc.) Well, the captain has just sent me this message, verbatim.

”Hey lovely, I just wanted to tell you that I have had a couple of conversations about you in the last few weeks in a good way, as we have noticed you are really stepping up at practice. I have noticed more aggression and drive and it’s exciting to see. I just wanted to send some encouragement as I know this must be such a difficult time for you but I’m impressed with you still coming along and really working hard in drills and scrims. So just wanted to drop you a line to say keep up the good work and that you are very much on my radar as one to watch. xx”

This is so good to see. It’s difficult sometimes to know if you’re improving or not as the improvements are usually very small and incremental, so it’s fantastic to get the recognition like this. I know a lot of the “aggression” she mentions comes from me having somewhere to release my anger during my grief, but I do hope I can channel it and carry on using it to help me improve my game next year.

2016 can suck it, 2017 is going to be my year. First my promotion, now this message to give me the extra push to get myself onto the A team. Maybe I should buy a lottery ticket while karma has decided to be on my side for a change?


~Twinkle~ December 08, 2016

well done! xx

Camdengirl December 08, 2016

that's great!

Babe In Toyland December 08, 2016

I don't think people realise sometimes how much one nice thing can really lift people and make them feel good all day. I made a promise to myself lately that I will sincerely say at least one nice thing to a stranger every day, which is pretty easy working in the shop. It makes me feel good because it's a conscious thing I have to seek and I'm hoping it makes them feel good too.

Bomb Shell Babe In Toyland ⋅ December 08, 2016

I like this idea. It's only a small thing to say, but can make a HUGE difference to the recipient. Even if you just tell someone that you like their hair, or that you really appreciate something they've done for you, it could be enough to lift someone's spirits just enough that they need.

history of love Babe In Toyland ⋅ December 08, 2016

This is a great idea! Someone called my dress beautiful today (even though she was drunk at noon...) but still, it was nice to hear.

Babe In Toyland history of love ⋅ December 08, 2016

People are usually most sincere when they've had a drink. ;)

history of love December 08, 2016

That is an awesome note! I'm glad someone is recognising your effort. First a promotion, now this :) totally deserved.
On a related note, 2016 and been pretty shit for everyone in varying degrees so I hope the next year is kinder to us all.

Canadian Lass December 08, 2016

2017 WILL be a better year!

Deleted user December 08, 2016

So amazing if her to do! Nicer job getting noticed ;)

Etoile Filante December 12, 2016

That's so great - good for you!! xXx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.