Just Sitting Here Snifflin' in Life

  • Dec. 5, 2016, 8:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a hectic, but fun week and day at school. I’m taking each of my 3 classes for a week long STEM camp at a nearby Ntl Guard Installation. It’s an awesome week with tons of hands on fun. However, the prep has been a pain in the butt. I have to make sure I have things copied and organized for my co-workers to do with the kids who stay behind. Then there’s the logistics. The med kids have to go during the week we have the med person, no matter what homeroom they’re in, so there’s a mixture of kids and I have to keep that straight. Then we got not 1, not 2, but 3 new students last week. So I have to figure all the hoopla of getting them signed up to attend at the last minute. Then that puts us over the limit for the last week, so I have to rearrange, which stresses my coworkers. Last week one of the kids got horribly sick and missed most of his week, so I got them to agree to him coming and making up that missed time, now that has thrown us for a loop. I spent all day Saturday at school grading work from the week and going over everything. Friday, when we returned to school, there was a cloud of smoke in my room. My coworker who “vapes” has apparently enjoyed my being gone all day and just keeps going in my room to smoke. I talked to my principal about it, because it was over the top. Instead of her dealing with the fact that the teacher is smoking e-cigarettes at school after the principal clearly said it was against every rule and state law, I have to deal with it. It doesn’t matter that she’s leaving kids alone to go smoke, or that I have already told her I’m allergic and not to smoke in my room. Nope, I have to go talk to her, and according to my principal “be very direct and remind her that I said it was against the rules”. Excuse me??? Aren’t you supposed to do that?
Anyway, it’s been a week of up and down emotions. Then I was sitting here tonight and one of my sweet kids posted the kindest thing on facebook. She was one of my first kids, and she’s now a teacher (so so proud of her). She posted on a site thanking me for believing in her, when she didn’t believe in herself. Then she said she hoped she would one day be a teacher like me who touches kids lives and affects them forever, like I have for her. It just touched my heart so much. It reminded me how good it feels to have those sweet things said about you, and I want to make sure that I share when people do so much for me.
So, that said, to all of you, who have shown me such limitless support and kindness, thank you. Your sweet words and unfailing support always make me smile. Thank you!!!


terriberri December 05, 2016

I am glad for student who posted such sweet truth about you.

Jigger December 06, 2016

Once in a while, one of MFK's former students will post something like that, or reach out to him for advice, and it always blows him away. It means more than anything. He hasn't heard from his own children in years, but he realizes now that there are more ways to be a parental figure, and he has a lot more kids than he ever knew. It helps. (And now I'm caught up on you!)

Small Town Girl December 09, 2016

How nice of her to post that! Must have been a wonderful pick up for the day!

Deleted user January 04, 2017

She just wrote the truth and what is in her heart . Your principal is not doing her job :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.