Pigeons.... in Weather report

  • Jan. 19, 2014, 4:42 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

 photo DSC08301.jpg

When we had a lot of cats and no dogs, we did not have pigeons. I would mourn their passing - missing the squabdrons gliding through the air, their coos, and other evidence of their absence.

I blamed the fact that we were pigeon-less on the barn's steel roof. I thought it might be too hot for them in the summer or too cold in the winter. Or maybe it was just too smooth for them to keep their balance.

But now that we are in the era of Gracie and cats are less prolific and less brave, the pigeons have come back. In fact now there are plenty of pigeons.

 photo DSC08302.jpg


NorthernSeeker January 19, 2014

You have many pigeons. They better not land in Gracie's yard, though.

Deleted user January 19, 2014

I have pigeons outside my window at work. I watch them the way you do. They like high places, but they also like edges where they can sit with other pigeons. Straight edges seem to be best for them. They like buildings and power lines better than tree branches. In fact, I never see pigeons perching in trees, ever. I like how they space themselves. They have some kind of a rule about that.

In your picture it looks like some of the pigeons like the edge around the cap on the silo, since the top of the cap is taken.

Florentine January 19, 2014

I see this a lot where I live, too. Less now that we moved into a quieter neighborhood with more natural predators and modest perching places, but when we lived on a sloped city hill, they arranged themselves all over the rooftops and conducted their social hours.

RoseS January 20, 2014

love the pigeons. Glad they are back!

M January 20, 2014

Flying rats.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.