We have site updates again in Site Updates

  • Nov. 28, 2016, 4:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

More progress! I think this is slightly better than the last version. Unnecessary carousel feature gone, it shouldn’t show you old updates you’ve already dismissed every time a new one pops up.

Add “On This Day” feature
Add choice between serif and sans-serif fonts
Add option to turn off viewing of other’s personalization
Fix some font inconsistencies
Styling fixes based on some feedback
Fix styling on entry editor/preview
Add toolbar to entry editor
Add the entry nav bar to the bottom of entry page as well as top
Remember tab selection of nav bar between pages
Move over the user search
Add site updates announcements
Redirect the .net site over to the .com site so everyone’s on the new site
Add some ridiculously cool stuff on the one and only Prosebox site (without fear of further breaking the old .net site), like tagging, search, and calendar


WildflowerHeart November 28, 2016

Awesome!

magicstar November 28, 2016

Is the toolbar on the entry editor eventually going to float down with us as we write like it used to?

Thank you for all the work you're doing!

simple mind magicstar ⋅ November 28, 2016

A couple of others also mentioned missing this. I'll play around with it. Without the "floating" part I can easily show it on mobile (didn't used to), but maybe I can do both.

magicstar simple mind ⋅ November 28, 2016

Maybe it's a sign I should be less long-winded, lol!

Aly-Reda magicstar ⋅ March 23, 2021

Deleted user November 28, 2016

I am having issues with the toolbar not floating down, as well. I have to scroll all the way up to add a picture, for example. Liking the new changes, though. Thank you for all of your efforts.

Leanne 🌈 November 28, 2016

Tagging, search, calendar FTW 👍👍👍👍👍👍👍

Deleted user November 28, 2016

I'm really liking these updates to Prosebox. 👌🏾

Deleted user November 28, 2016

I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

raynedrop November 28, 2016

Lookin' good sir!

middle age pearl November 28, 2016

Thank you, thank you THANK YOU!

simple mind middle age pearl ⋅ November 28, 2016

:)

kmh. November 28, 2016

Fantastic :)

Timmy™ November 28, 2016

But where're the blocks of cheese? C'mon. We're supposed to Make Murica Grate Again.

I DEMAND BLOCKS OF CHEESE.

simple mind Timmy™ ⋅ November 28, 2016

Yuge blocks of cheese wearing red hats.

dirtbag November 28, 2016

"Search" function does not seem to be functioning

Mystery November 28, 2016

Thought I'd let you know that I just noticed that not every day written is visible in the On This Day section. I've been keeping a journal nearly 30 years and thought it would be cool to copy over every day that I wrote on November 27 (which I backdated to the appropriate year). Yet no dates before 2010 are visible. :( What's up with that?

simple mind Mystery ⋅ November 28, 2016

I think I'm only pulling a maximum of five.

Mystery simple mind ⋅ November 28, 2016

Aw, too bad. Add the number 3 in front of that 5 and make me smile. :) :)

Deleted user November 28, 2016

👍

Deleted user November 29, 2016

A couple of feedback from testing using IE 11.

The Prosebox banner is too big. As a result, we have to scroll down to login. Having a login on top of page will be nice.

Move Log off as a separate top level menu. This helps with not having to go through Misc menu to log off. This will also adhere to the style guidelines of many other site.

Two important things I look for are unread bookmarks and pending comments. Is there a way to indicate that unread booksmarks at the Bookmarks menu level? If you could do that, implementing unread comments at Comments menu level will be awesome.

Thanks for all you do. :-)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 30, 2016

Since I don't have IE, I tried running it through a simulator. I guess the Prosebox logo is huge? Looks like it's not honoring my width restriction on the container object, I'll have to try adding it to the image itself.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 30, 2016

I find this a common issue with any bootstrap based library and IE.

Thanks for fixing the comments, bookmarks, sign out, and settings on top. I like the small little icons on top.

Deleted user November 29, 2016

I made a typo on my response. I cannot delete it to replace it with a grammatically correct response. What happened to the Delete Comments feature?

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 29, 2016

Should still be there - X on the right hand side.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 29, 2016

Thanks, man.

Vivienne November 29, 2016

Loving the new bits!

Newzlady November 29, 2016

Love the new site. Still lobbying for the ability to follow only certain books of particular users.

Deleted user November 29, 2016

Nice

donut November 29, 2016

I'm not overly picky about stuff, but yeah, the floating toolbar would be FANTASTIC, because writing my last entry and having to scroll up every time I wanted to bold a question was friggin' annoying. ;) Seriously, though, great job on the site!

simple mind donut ⋅ November 29, 2016

Well, you don't have to use the toolbar, think of it as your Markdown tutorial helper. 😆

(I'm on my phone, that first try came out as Markdown fugitive belief)

mcbee November 30, 2016

Photobucket has been notoriously unreliable, any possibility to ever give a simple cut and paste photo option at some point? No complaints at all other than that minor one and I appreciate everything you do!

simple mind mcbee ⋅ November 30, 2016

Yeah, I'm starting to get serious about offering a premium paid account option - which of course I'd like to add some integrated photo hosting to.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ December 01, 2016

😍😍😍😍😍😍😍

pandora December 01, 2016

Will the toolbar eventually float so that it comes with you down to where you are writing if a long entry?

Deleted user December 01, 2016

Just noticed the 'privatize' button on written comments! Love itttt. Is it new or has it been there my whole life?

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ December 01, 2016

It's been there quite a while. Now I just need to add an edit button (maybe with limits so trolls can't abuse it).

Deleted user December 01, 2016

Are the PB stats private? I liked on OD how we could see how many members there were, how many were currently online and - most awesome - where they were from.

Pickled Duck Lips December 07, 2016

PLEASE do the calendar at your earliest convenience.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.