I need me some pain medicines in A new beginning

  • Jan. 18, 2014, 12:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I don't know what it was about last week but everyone and their mom were breaking their wrist, hand/fingers or elbows. Every single time there is an influx of hand injuries we of course have no hand surgeons in or they are extremely overbooked every 15 minutes all day long and we get primary care doctors calling in freaking out over a broken pinky. They act like if they get in that day their finger is magically going to be fixed. It was a normal crazy week with the usual high volume of fractures and drug seekers. I always love reading the ER reports for the triage patients. One time a doctor had written "Chief complaint: "I need me some pain medicines". It was hilarious because I had talked to that patient before and that is exactly how he talks. He is a known drug seeker and is on God knows what every time he comes in and you can never understand him. It's sad how many people around here are addicted to drugs and how violent they are. I had a guy start punching my desk repeatedly yesterday because I simply told him that that no we do not need his facebook page. Then he said "Look at you with those rings on your skin" (I'm assuming he meant my wedding rings) and wrote down his email with a smiley face and finally left after yelling at me for 10 minutes. At least he got his percocet rx so shouldn't hear from him for a few days.

I know everyone bitches and whines about this but I am really looking forward to winter being over already. I just want to get outside and run and do fun stuff again. Already put in for my vacation in June and am taking a couple days off in July too. Going to take Lilly to storyland and maybe santa's village again. She should be able to go on all the rides this year so that will be fun. If only I could get her to sit in the stroller at least part of the time. She refuses to sit in the cart in stores so shopping is pretty horrible. She's definitely in the terrible twos. Still doesn't sleep through the night or for more than an hour or two before waking up crying. I know a lot of people are against it but she is still nursing and doesn't look like the end is anywhere in sight. She is pretty damn obsessed and it's not like I can just take them away like you could a binky. Well, I could but that would require a mastectomy I think. The more I think about how hard she has been the more I think she is going to be an only child. We are both pretty content with just her. She is a pretty awesome little person though. In other ways we have gotten SO lucky with her health wise (with the exception in the beginning with the weight loss) and my pregnancy and birth went just the way I wanted it so I feel like there is no way that is going to happen again. Plus, my luck I'd end up with twins or triplets or something.

She got really spoiled with Christmas as expected. Our living room looks like a little people factory. She is obsessed with those little people toys. Has all the disney figures. Just a few minutes ago she picked up an ariel figure from the little mermaid and goes "Mama!" then picked up a clown figure and goes "Dada!" Smart child. She really wants a dog. She is currently putting blankets over her two dog stuffed animals and then rocking them back and forth. haha. We really want to get a dog when we get a house hopefully this year or next. It will be great to finally have enough room for all of our stuff and to have a yard that Lilly can play in will be great. The apartment we are renting right now is right on the road and right next to the river so you can't go out and play with her without having a heart attack when she runs to the river or the road every couple minutes. But it is literally a 5 minute walk to my work so we save more money now with me walking obviously so it has its pros too.

Jesse is at orientation now for a new night job so that is going to take some of the burden off of me financially. He has been a stay at home dad almost since she was born doing side jobs for a couple hours 4 nights a week so the money hasn't been great. He wont be working full time but every little bit helps. I actually got a random 25 cent raise the other day and will still get my 25 cent raise in June when it will mark 4 years since I've been working at the dungeon. We are still getting paid well below what we should be and they are trying to get us to do more things that RN's do including having us take the same training they did to get certified as orthopedic nurses yet they still pay us like we are just secretaries but that is a whole other story for a different time. I am grateful for the raise anyway considering the other local hospitals have a freeze on raises and have for quite some time. I'm going to stick this out for the possible merger that is in the works with another orthopedic practice and it will be interesting to see once we get a new CEO what happens too. Plus, one more year means more vacation time I can take away from the insanity!

Alright well Lilly just jumped in my lap so I suppose I should shut up and pay attention to her now.


Katie Kizzle January 18, 2014

haha! You poor thing. You should get them to prescribe you the good stuff with codeine in it. When I was really sick I literally took one teaspoon and was cured the next day. Weirdest thing. And you would think it would be that simple but the PCPs around here have no clue what they are doing and don't even know what kind of splint to put on them for some reason. It is protocol for PCP's and the emergency room to automatically refer to us. Although we did just have a 17 year old with a pinky fracture in his middle phalanx that needed an ORIF (open reduction + internal fixation) so I guess they are just being safer than sorry but 99 percent of the time there is nothing to be done.

Bobbie dawn January 18, 2014

Haha Ella also loves her little people. Only she picks up the beast from beauty and the beast and calls it daddy.

It's_all_a_journey January 19, 2014

Oh no I can't believe she won't sit in grocery carts or strollers for you and that she isn't sleeping through the night. I'm so sorry. If I had 2 of them up in the night I am pretty sure I would lose my mind.

I can't wait for winter to be over too. It sucks so bad to not be able to enjoy the outdoors with the kids.

QueenOfBritton January 26, 2014

Thank God! I am not the only one with a child who can't quit the boob! I wish it would happen, and then sometimes I am pretty thankful for how easy it makes certain situations.

Katie Kizzle QueenOfBritton ⋅ January 26, 2014

I'm with you on that! The upside like you said is it pretty much calms her down no matter what.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.