Nojomo 24 in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

  • Nov. 24, 2016, 9:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Is that time of November, when Nojomo really starts to limp. I mean, how can there be anything that interesting to write about every day!

On the day that my tendency to helicopter parent was mentioned i discovered snow plough parents. Apparently snowplough parents make helicopter parents look positively neglectful!

Do you think you may be a snow plough parent?! It depends, have you plotted murder in order to further your child’s potential 😉

http://thestir.cafemom.com/being_a_mom/151554/7_signs_you_might_be

It is just a tongue in cheek article, there were much gentler articles on the subject.

I have very exciting plans for Saturday - hey I’m a mother, it doesn’t take much for plans to be exciting! Some of you know that when T was 1 I made a fabric advent calendar. It has 24 little fabric pockets in which a little gift is placed. When they were little and I was childminding (ie running a registered childcare business from home) I used to put (for my two and for each minded child) crappy plastic toys, flashing rings, rubber reindeer, little pots of noise putty, tattoos and stickers, pretty pens, note pads etc…

As they’ve got older and since I gave up the business I’ve tried to tailor it more to my girls specifically. The first year without the childminding family we did good deeds - each day would have a kindness note in it; something to do for someone else. This could be a phone call to a grandparent, picking up litter locally, buying goods for the food bank, baking cakes for a neighbour etc… then last year each day had a note with something for us to do together - hot choc and cookies or reading Christmas stories, going to look at Christmas lights and making decorations.

This year I’ve been looking for memes for them, some with positive messages for them, some funny and on Saturday I plan to buy each of them a little book in which to stick each meme, so they can keep them.

There have also been little chocolates and small gifts, this year I have got emoji earrings to put in for T since she had her ears pierced just before Christmas last year, while L had got some small fluffy emojis. And always a bigger gift for Christmas eve. T has got a necklace with three dandelion seeds preserved in resin, I haven’t found anything for L yet. She doesn’t do jewellery, but she does do all things football… I’ll have to see.

Anyway, the reason for my excitement is that I’m going to town all by my own on Saturday! I’m going to get the last few things for advent along with a naff Christmas jumper (sweater) for Christmas jumper day at school. I did see a woolen Father Christmas style dress in Primark the other day - I think I’ll try that! It’ll be a bit different. I’m just fantasizing about going into changing rooms without my children nagging me to hurry up!!!

Only 6 Nojomos to go! (Which means 10 days to my birthday… )


thesunnyabyss November 25, 2016

you deserve some time to yourself, enjoy it!!!!

~Twinkle~ November 25, 2016

We are having Christmas jumper day this year and I don't own one. I found one in tesco with the names of the reindeer, so it wasn't too Christmassy if you know what I mean. I'm sure we can't wear them with patients anyway!

Deleted user November 28, 2016

I think a fancy Christmas sweater is in order.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.