NoMoJo - 11/22/2016 in All Of The Above

  • Nov. 25, 2016, 5:36 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My first-ever court ‘appearance’ was scheduled for 8:30AM. I’d received the summons late in October, and today was the day.

But - when I got to the courthouse I found that a) there was no judge OR court being held that day; b) I had the choice of an ‘answer’ or talking with the plaintiff (a law office) directly; and c) a friend I knew was now working at the County Clerk’s office.

I opted to ‘answer’ the summons which would cost me $92.00 vs. an instant ($5K+) judgement against me.

Per the instructions, I did have to call the plaintiffs office and send a copy of the answer to the plaintiff (which I did), and I have an appointment with a bankruptcy attorney on Tuesday.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.