Christmas is....complicated in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Nov. 22, 2016, 6:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I forgot how much more there is to do when your baby starts eating food lol. The last thing I need is more things to do! I’ve been doing baby led weaning with Summer so I’ll make her a scrambled egg and throw it on her tray and she’ll just go to town. She’s 7 months now by the way and I started giving her bits of food at 5 months. She’s pretty good at the pincer grasp already so she can pick stuff up great. She likes quite a bit of stuff now. When I’m being lazy and quick I give her a banana, spoon feed her a bit of oatmeal or yogurt, or give her something like cantaloupe. Steaming carrots or sweet potatoes takes more forethought. Last week I made her some broccoli.....gave her small bits of chicken from a BBQ chicken I had just picked up at the store....gave her a bit of toast, etc. I still have lots of things to introduce her to that she hasn’t tried. Will have to pick up more stuff while shopping this weekend. She’s loving eating but Momma isn’t loving cleaning her high chair 3 times a day and trying to figure out what to give her all the time lol. Oh well.....it’s definitely cute watching her eat. She really loves scrambled eggs and carrots the most. Oh and I randomly bought her a food pouch the other day when we were at Walmart and she was great with that pureed food but only if she could do it all herself. She sucked the carrot/apple mixture out and was super happy about it.

We took the boys to Toys ‘r us recently to see what toys they gravitated towards to get some ideas of what they’d like for Christmas. They seemed to get excited about a lot of different things so shopping for them definitely isn’t difficult. I’ve been researching toys they might like for the past month now and making a list. I’ve already given my MIL and GMIL a list since they shop early. Did I mention that when you give them a list they don’t take it as suggestions but they buy every single item and then they’re like okay all done! lol. Even if there’s like 20 things on the list!! It’s crazy. I just made my list to give them yesterday and it includes tea, fancy chocolate, kernels popcorn, books, yoga pants, a hair cutting kit so I can cut Cody’s hair and some pj’s. I’d be happy just to receive some of those things but like I said, they will buy them ALL plus I will get a ton from my parents, brothers and a bit from Mike.

Christmas is super overwhelming. We get soooo much stuff. And this year we have a 5th person in our family!! I asked everyone to get her clothes since she’s wearing 6 month stuff now and I barely have anything in size 12 months and up. So I’m excited to see what they pick for her :) Oh and about the too much stuff.....last year Cody and Miles probably got 40 presents each!! Their heads were spinning. They didn’t know what to play with first. Cody just kept ripping gifts open until there were none and then started crying even though he’d been opening for a LONG time. So yeah......Christmas is awesome but also overwhelming for me because I have to deal with the mass quantities of stuff. I brought a bunch of stuff back last year because it was either the wrong sizes, for the wrong age group or just not right for us (we live in a small townhouse and my brother bought the kids a massive train). My kids didn’t even notice the stuff I brought back lol. I saved the gift cards for later in the year when they needed or wanted something special. It all worked out :)

I haven’t started shopping yet but it looks like I will actually have $100 in free amazon.ca gift cards from my swagbucks account to use. Score! I’m very excited about that. And not to be greedy but it will be fun when Christmas is over and I can order gift cards to use all for myself from swagbucks haha. I can’t cash out with paypal from my swagbucks account because paypal has my maiden name and they won’t let me change it unless I fax them a copy of my marriage certificate which I can’t find so that sucks....I’ll try to look for it more one day but so far I don’t see it. But there’s definitely a lot of gift cards I like to choose from!

Anyways, I’ve blabbed enough for now and I need to make Cody’s lunch so have a nice day everyone!


Last updated November 22, 2016


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.