Sometimes I'm glad I married a hoarder in The View from the Terrace

  • Nov. 21, 2016, 3:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes it can be a good thing to have a hoarder for a husband. It’s been one of those weeks. Last week the microwave packed up, well it didn’t exactly pack up, the door catch started acting up; it didn’t always shut properly and the light would stay on and then occasionally it would turn itself on, not good. It was starting to rust inside too so I decided to replace it. I bought a smart red one. I have decided I am going to cheer up the kitchen with some bright colours, while I was at it I bought some new red pans to match. The old ones were so old I don’t remember when we got them and the handle was off one of them. So problem sorted.

Then on Thursday the immersion heater packed up, great timing, just as the weather was really cold I had ice cold water coming out of the hot tap. Hubby went to town yesterday and tried to buy a new thermostat for it only to find that you can’t any more, you have to buy a whole new immersion. Hubby did that and was replacing it while I was about to vaccum the bedroom. I turned on the vacuum and it fused the circuit and died. I’m afraid I lost it. I was wondering what would happen next. Then Hubby said not to worry he had another one in his shed. He is like that, always producing things that you didn’t know he had. Apparently someone he knows in the village whose garden he does was updating their vacuum and just threw this one out so he asked if he could have it and put it in the shed for an emergency. Yesterday we had that emergency and he produced it.

I often get tired of Hubby’s hoarding. He has stuff everywhere and is always bringing home things people don’t want. I’ve given up on the back garden, that’s his now, and he has several sheds and greenhouses in varying states of dilapidation full of goodness knows what. Thank goodness we live in the country.

But this time I was glad I married a hoarder, not that I realised he was one then. This vacuum works fine and I was able to get on with cleaning the bedroom. It’s even purple, my favourite colour! It just goes to show that there’s always a silver lining, or in this case a purple one!


Deleted user November 21, 2016

Sometimes Frank is like that too :-)

Marg November 22, 2016

That's funny - that's exactly what I did with my kitchen too - decided to brighten it up a bit so bought a red kettle - which led to new storage jars - which led to a new biscuit jar ...... :)

I bet your hub was absolutely delighted to be able to produce something useful from his stack in the shed!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.