Nojomo 19. Tidbits #edit - childcare rules link! in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

Revised: 11/19/2016 5:41 p.m.

  • Nov. 19, 2016, 10:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think that one of the issues with having anxiety but not wanting people to know is that, when you’re away with school for a week, you store all those little anxieties up for your mum to deal with when you get home. You then hit her, head-on with a week’s worth on anxieties within an hour..!

I’m babysitting tonight. I am so over babysitting. I really, really don’t want to babysit any more. But we need reciprocal sitters and so I keep on doing it.

The large bag of stinky clothes that T brought back are now all clean, smelling like chemically reproduced summer gardens ahhhhhhhhh. 💐🌺🌼🌻🌞🌞🌞

Now T has just told me that the doctor on her trip has a daughter with the same name as her which, in Arabic, means rain drops from heaven. Isn’t that beautiful? ☔ ☔

I wish today was a lazy Saturday but I woke at 5.30, unable to get back to sleep because R forgot to switch off the heating last night, I feel a little sluggish now!

It’s nearing the end of November and our window is open… One of the drawbacks of having cats and no catflap. During the week they’ve missed going out for several days because L and I have got home after dark and the days we have been able to open the window they sprinted out then lasted approximately 5 minutes! Right now, Amba is on the sofa and I’d bet anything that Oreo is upstairs in the bed! Maybe I’ll just go and close the window....

Currently we’re watching Beethoven’s 2nd. L loves these movies 😁

On that note, I’m gonna make like a tree 🌳 and leave 🌿

As so many if you asked, here’s a link. http://www.netmums.com/life/childcare-swaps-the-rules


Last updated November 19, 2016


Deleted user November 19, 2016

You are the queen of emoticons! I love them scattered throughout your entries! :)

Raindrops from heaven... gorgeous.

Our November has been ridiculously warm too... no complaints here! And tonight it changes - we will go down to freezing temps tomorrow from open window temps today.

Hope the babysitting went okay. I can imagine babysitting other peoples' kids when you have your own to think about must suck. Do they come to your house or do you go there?

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 19, 2016

Trust me, it isn't warm - I have two pairs of socks on here! The window is only open to allow garden access!

I go to the kids house. There are strict regulations - now i no longer have a licence to care for children in my own home I can't have them here for any kind of recompense, including reciprocal babysitting! X

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ November 19, 2016

Whatttt... it's against the law to have kids in your home to babysit them if their parents babysit yours in exchange? That is ... unbelievable. What if you did it for 'free'?

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 19, 2016

My group of friends all care for each other's kids for free, but because it's reciprocal then that's a payment in its own way. Because of the strict regulation on childminders (I had to jump through a lot of hoops, pass various inspections and police checks as well as pay an annual payment to the government. Every three years I had another inspection.) So for anyone to care for children within their own home for any form of payment (monetary or otherwise) they have to have all these things in place.

thesunnyabyss ermentrude ⋅ November 19, 2016

So if I watch my friend's baby and she brings me something nice for doing it that would be a nono? is this just bc you were a childminder or it that way for all parents? just curious,

ermentrude thesunnyabyss ⋅ November 19, 2016

Only if I watch her baby in my house, not in her house. In my house it would be childminding which has all the regulations, when I go to my friend's house I'm just babysitting. X

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ November 19, 2016

And what if she watches your kids in her house? Same thing?
And what if it's your sister's kid who stays at your place for the weekend?
We haz all the questions. :)

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ November 19, 2016

If she watches my kids in her house it's the same thing, one rule for all. Except family. You don't need to be registered to care for family. X

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ November 19, 2016

Interesting!

thesunnyabyss Deleted user ⋅ November 19, 2016

well, that is interesting, here you can babysit, anytime as far as I know, as long as you have under a certain amount of kids in your home,

when the kids were in school I routinely minded kids after school, just a couple, three at the most, and there was no need to be licensed, etc,

it is interesting to see the different rules in different countries, thanks

thesunnyabyss November 19, 2016

Will also does that sort of thing, keep all his anxieties bottled up until he sees me and then wham-o! dumps it all out in verbal diarrhea, lol,

I hope you get your lazy Sunday, take care, hugs!!!

The Tranquil Loon November 19, 2016

northern lights November 20, 2016

Hope you get a lazy Sunday instead!

ermentrude northern lights ⋅ November 20, 2016

Well, I slept for 8 hours, ran 5k, had porridge while sitting on the sofa and now I'm in the bath 😁 🛁

northern lights ermentrude ⋅ November 20, 2016

Not quite the lazy Sunday but a bath sounds nice!!

ermentrude northern lights ⋅ November 20, 2016

It's a perfect Sunday morning for me 😁

Deleted user November 21, 2016

Luckily babysitting is not that regulated here :-) I wish we didn't have to have litter boxes but my cats can not safely go out :-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.