Crap week. in Random Thoughts

  • Jan. 17, 2014, 1:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I would have been posting sooner, but this week has been complete shit.

Sunday was actually done with quickly.

Monday, our first delivery was to a manufactured home (mobile home) with a full set of kitchen appliances. The first thing we carried in was the 450Lb/204Kg refrigerator, which had to be leaned in to clear the door. The damn thing proceeded to fall, which being half under it, I had to catch it, and royally screwed up my back in the process. So since then I've had sharp, stabbing pains in my upper mid back, between my shoulder blade and my spine, to the point that it hurts to cough or sneeze, and I have difficulty carrying even light things in my right arm. I've tried to rest, but that hasn't happened. This is the second time I've had one of these monster fridges fall on me.

Tuesday, the assistant and I got at odds, and being in pain already, my temper was in the shitter. I was staging my deliveries in the loft to get down with the order picker, and the other driver came up and started moving things. I stuck my head out from a row of small fridges to see what was going on, considering I recognise the sound of cardboard sliding across the concrete floor, and seeing my boxes moving, just half yelled, "I've got those to take down!". Her worse attitude reply was "Well F* me I didn't know!" I just resolved to get back to what I was doing. Fast forward to getting ready to load the truck and I was told that I needed to move my truck because she'd staged all her stuff on the side I'd backed into before she had staged her stuff there. She then told me to move my truck. Walking out to the truck bay, her attitude continued, and I finally snapped. "Well excuse the f* outta me! I didn't fing know you had a fing reserved space in the f*ing dock!" It goes down hill from there. This led to me, her, my assistant, and her assistant having conferences with the delivery manager, then with one of the ASM's, then with 2 ASM's, and the delivery manager together. I've been trying to not give in, but at the last little conference, I finally admitted to myself and the managers that while I love the job, going out, being active, I can't cope with these huge refrigerators and heavy front load washing machines when there are stairs involved... which is at least 80% of customer homes in this area. Once I finally got loaded, called my customers, printed my tickets, and verified my truck, when F, one of the ASM's came to check off my truck, she had the nerve to ask why I took so long to get out. I was so flustered, I just glared at her. I stated at 6am, and the day didn't end until some point after 7pm.

Wednesday, we seemed to hit one issue after another with deliveries. It's either we had to take doors off fridges, or there was something that wasn't put on the ticket by sales staff that needed to be done extra. The pain was excruciating all damn day. This wasn't as long, thankfully.

Thursday was my late start day, so I clocked in just ahead of 10am. My delivery manager had taken my truck to the other side of the state to retrieve some things from a store that was being either remodeled or closed, and we had a 16' flat face truck which he picked up Wednesday afternoon. However, I went looking for the keys to the rental once I got everything staged to discover the delivery manager had the keys in his pocket.... 300 miles away. I was lit. I called the company we rent trucks from to discover that it didn't belong to the shop 15 miles away, it belonged to the shop 40 miles away, and after a call back from them, they didn't have an extra key, and they'd have to have another one made. I talked to them about getting a second truck just for the day, found out what was available, then had F call them to make the reservation. At this point, I'd already lost 2 hours. As soon as I she told me the reservation was confirmed, I literally ran to my car, and drove to the rental shop to get it. As soon as I got back, a delivery that I was told had been pushed needed to be delivered immediately, to load the 1 appliance, call, ticket, and go. I was too mad to question it, so just did as told. This wasted another 2 hours that could have been used to get things done. When I got back, F again asked me why that took so long. My response was "Have you had any dealing with that customer?" I got no reply, and went on with my job. They were light, by my delivery manager insisted to route my deliveries for me, which I'm putting an end to this week. While they were mostly cheap clothes dryers, and a small fridge, we of course, had issues. a couple of customers were complete pills, a connecting screw for a dryer's electrical cord was fouled up, and that ate 30 minutes. I made it back to the store around 8pm, got the truck cleaned out, clocked out, and left the store with the rental at 8:30 pm. I should clarify that. The shop we rent trucks from is close to my house, so it's not hard for me to just drop it on the way home. Getting there is only one exit off the highway before mine, and since my car was there, it worked out better. That and I told the manager if I had to wait for someone to take me up there, I wasn't clocking out. I think that was the selling point. I walked into the house about 9:15pm. In pain. Exhausted. Aggravated.

Prosebox has been unwilling to let me log in this week, until today. It kept sending me to some other bullshit wanna be news site. I don't know how it got fixed, but I'm glad it did.

Today, I need to get the laundry done, go pick up the mail, and straighten up the house. If I can find that it doesn't aggravate my back, I'll also try and take down the Christmas lights. May wait till C gets home from school and have him move the big ladder out for me. Either that, or I'll just have to climb up on the roof to take them down.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.