All the Things (Nothing) in About

  • Nov. 15, 2016, 10:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I have nothing to write about staying home- all the days kind of blur into walks and trips to Target and mom group meetings. But then when I think about coming here to write I feel too overwhelmed because there is EVERYTHING to write about and so I never write anything.

The election has really been weighing on me heavily, but I can’t get into that right now. It would consume my night.

So something I can tackle tonight…

My sweet, fat baby ate some carrots this evening. He has tasted lots of food- avocado was his first, baked sweet potato, gnawed on raw cucumber, carrot, broccoli, etc. But tonight was the first time we gave him a puree where he actually got anything down. I know everyone does rice cereal first, but we like to live on the edge, you know.

He has been staring at us eating for a while now. We are kind of doing a baby led weaning/traditional puree hybrid plan. We dipped the spoon then let him hold it himself. He stuffed it right into his mouth and seemed to like it! Haha!

Mama’s little fatty! He is just over 5 months and probably just over 18 lbs now. He laughs and giggles a lot, can roll both ways (but only back to front intentionally), and is really into his feet. He’s adorable and really sweet.

Nugz is still not a super great sleeper, but he’s doing better. He goes to bed around 7:30, wakes up to nurse sometime around 1 or 2, then goes back to sleep until about 5. Sometimes at 5 I can nurse him for a snooze button feed until 630 or so (he cuddles in bed with me), and sometimes he is just awake at 5 (ugh). I go to bed early so that I can at least get a few hours of consecutive sleep. We are working on putting him in his bed (pack and play in our room) awake instead of nursing/rocking him to sleep. It has been a bit of a process and has involved some fussing and crying, but he’s getting it. The last 3 nights, he has fussed for maybe 5-10 minutes before passing out. No actual crying. I am hoping that learning how to put himself to sleep will help with the nighttime wake up eventually. I mean, he is not calorie-deficient, I am pretty confident he can make it through the night without eating… If he doesn’t figure out his sleep by the time I go back to work, there might be some sleep training in his future because I have to function at work. He’s probably moving to his big boy crib after the holidays/travel etc. The new AAP recommendation is to keep baby in parents’ room for a year, but he is outgrowing the pack n play. He rolls around in his sleep. I like having him next to my side of the bed so I will miss him but it will be okay.

I am so grateful for this time off with him. I’m just living in la-la land with my sweet peanut, and going back to work in 2 months is going to be interesting. There’s been some work drama, I’ll write about that next.

Also, why do babies have so much shit? I am sitting in my messy living room. I wanted to not own ALL THE BABY THINGS. Guess how many effing baby carrying contraptions I own? FIVE!! 5!! Who even needs an Ergo, a Lillebaby, a K’tan, a Moby, and a wrap from Bhutan? Apparently I do.

I have a million things to write but we’ll stop there because I need to sleep. If you’re lucky I’ll upload pictures from my phone tomorrow.


ninakir88 November 16, 2016

just wait till they get old enough to play with toys, SO MANY TOYS.
i saw the new thing about having babies in the room with you for a year, but don't feel obligated to do that if it will make you more sane. we put emily in her own room about 3 or 4 months and it was the best thing ever. we were actually sleeping! ha. but everyone is different. reading your entry reminds me of how the newborn/infant phase is SO HARD.. but we get past it.

EddyOut ninakir88 ⋅ November 16, 2016

How come you slept better? I am still getting up to feed him at least once a night so it seems more annoying to have to go farther to get him...

ninakir88 EddyOut ⋅ November 16, 2016

she made a lot of noise and i was also worried about getting up in the middle of the night (like to pee) and waking her up.

EddyOut ninakir88 ⋅ November 16, 2016

Got it!

Flame is Love November 16, 2016

We moved Elizabeth from the rock and play in our room to her crib in her room at 3 or so months. Maybe 4. It was the week before I went back to work. She didn't blink at the change. Her room is attached to ours so it's not that much farther since we had to go to the kitchen to make a bottle anyway. She still usually wakes once a night for a few minutes for a bottle.

paradiseFOUND November 16, 2016

Ava stayed in our room till she was about 8 months old but she was just so tiny (and could still fit in a rock and play at 8 months!!) but Mia?! Mia got the boot at like 2 months. She was the noisiest sleeper ever. We all slept better in seperate rooms!
And baby stuff ugh... I am selling things at a rapid rate to get them out of this house! Some may be premature but I'm tired of staring at it!

Joutsensydän November 18, 2016

LOL!!
It's like you're writing about my life. It all sounds familiar. ALL of it. The blurry days... the nothing and EVERYthing... the WHY DO BABIES HAVE SO MUCH SH*T? The nights... LOL.
I can't believe Nugz is already old enough to be eating stuff.
Good luck with the sleeping habits. Daniel is still waking up 1-2 times a night. About once a week he wakes up for real and can be up for about 2 hours. Most times it's just snooze button nursing time. Yeah I'm still nursing him at 15 months. Can't seem to let him go :(. I can't really imagine sleeping through the night. Don't think I could, even if Daniel did. I'm too used to waking up every 3-4 hours.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.