Essential mysteries of photography in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Nov. 11, 2016, 7:52 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Photography is fascinating to me because it’s both descriptive and symbolic at the same time. Descriptive because it shows you something that looks like the world and symbolic because the best photographs not only show you the world but also seem to reach beyond it, to speak of something more. A great photograph touches all sorts of things—other perceptions you’ve had, other things you’ve seen or remembered or felt. It’s that density of meaning that fills some photographs with feeling and makes them profound.

Leo Rubinfien

I don’t know what I’d do without photography. It’s my great escape and passion. All my life I’ve taken pictures: in my early youth as the family photographer; in high school experimenting with a 3-D camera; in all the newspaper jobs as well as in my teaching and public relations jobs; during travels across the county in the 80s photographing the amazing landscapes of this country from coast to coast; and now for the past 20 years, as an avid photographer and chronicler of my surroundings in the vicinity of Charleston, South Carolina. I’ve filled my Flickr pages with countless architectural, small town documentary photos, garden scenes, landscapes, bird photography, sunsets, flowers – anything and everything that interests me whenever I’m out walking in the city or in the parks and nature preserves I love so much. I take my camera everywhere; I use my iPhone camera. It’s such a major preoccupation for me that I can’t imagine not taking pictures. Rarely does a day go by when I’m not out somewhere with my camera.

What Leo Rubinfien said about photography above speaks deeply to me and articulates what for me is the essence of photography: I want to record and document the world I love, particularly Nature in all it’s magical, astounding, mystical beauty, and by doing so reveal to myself and others what I value, where I’ve been, and what I want to share with others.

I’m fasciated by light and shadows, and the illumination of trees and landscapes in late afternoon, my favorite time to take pictures. In a sense, when I have my camera I’m looking not only for something to surprise me and marvel at, but also for some element in a composition or scene that is new or unique but which at the same time draws me to it instantly, spontaneously, intuitively. I can look at it later and take in the meaning, the subtleties, the feelings they inspire. I take the photo because it comforts, calms, inspires and taps into some deep part of my unconscious, my psyche, my very soul. I see lighted portals and paths everywhere I go at the parks and gardens. My photographs are a part of me that I want to know again and again, and remember. They speak to me about feelings and memories that I hold dear, and about possible futures that I can only imagine now.

I’ve posted below some favorite photos taken in the last two months. I haven’t gone far to take them. They are all from places nearby, “the terrain of the heart,” so to speak.

DSC_1465

DSC_1480

DSC_1637

DSC_1641

DSC_1646

DSC_1628

DSC_1632

DSC_1986

DSC_1869

DSC_2034

DSC_1921

DSC_1946


Deleted user November 11, 2016

Gorgeous ! I love taking pictures too but I am not overly talented at it. You definitely are !

ConnieK November 11, 2016

I like the way the light spills down the hill and makes it look like a grass skirt and that butterfly is incredibly crisp. I also like the deep-south canopy road shots.

A friend of mine has a way of capturing New England landscapes in photograph that at first glance appear to be a painting. She sells them as note cards online.

=bernard= November 11, 2016

Whenever I see those lovely images of yours with the live oaks I'm always reminded of the Big Barbecue at 12 Oaks; from the film GWTW. :)

Eriu November 14, 2016

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful!

middle age pearl November 17, 2016

Your talent is beyond words. Thank you for sharing the terrain of your heart.

Marg December 05, 2016

Beautiful photos as ever! There's something about a long path between trees that just makes you want to be there - right now :)

What bothers me is that I hardly do anything with my photos beyond sharing a few on here. I used to love taking random photos of anything and everything when I was out walking and now I rarely do that but even when I do they just sit on my phone eventually receding into the mists of time.

Oswego Marg ⋅ December 07, 2016

Thank you so much! Have you tried creating a Flickr account? I have used it for years including all the pictures that I like best.

Marg Oswego ⋅ December 08, 2016

Oh I have a Photobucket account and I used to be really good at picking out the better photos and editing them then uploading them to Photobucket but I just don't seem to get the time or have the energy to do that any more. It's also probably because it's really difficult to get the photos from the phone to the computer - every time I load itunes it makes my computer crash so I have to e-mail each photo to myself in order to get it onto my pc - therefore a fiddly business!

seafarer December 26, 2016

As always, beautiful pics. Every pic tells a story!!! :)

Oswego seafarer ⋅ December 27, 2016

Thank you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.