Spinning in One day at a time

  • Nov. 10, 2016, 8:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Lately things have been a bit out of control in my life.

I kind of over scheduled myself, and finished up doing a shit ton of travelling. In between the Fiji vacation, and the Australia work trip I finally got my new carpet installed. That involved packing everything up into big containers (my walk-in wardrobe is like the tardis, soooo much stuff in there). Despite having to pay the carpet company $60.00 per room to move the furniture, I still found myself on the day pushing and shoving dressers and lifting beds. The installer was a really nice guy, and super strong for his size, but some of those things just need two people to move them. Anyway carpet is in, and it looks great. It has already had its inaugural cat spew on it, and it cleaned off just like it said it would.

So between that and the travelling, I still haven’t unpacked all the stuff. My house is looking kind of minimalist cool at the moment, but I’m not ready to get rid of anything else. My dryer crapped out too, so that certainly hasn’t helped with a happy home environment.

The vac in Fiji was everything I hope you are imagining it to be. 2 nights at an island resort, and 3 nights at an adults only resort. Bliss. At one stage I was thinking “I am so sick of applying sunscreen” first world problem or what? The Oz trip was an absolute waste of time. It had clearly been thrown together at the last minute by someone who didn’t care one bit. Usually on those things they put you with a roomie around your age – I was with a 24 year old (who seemed more like about 16 to me). It was done alphabetically, so I got to sit next to her on 4 flights too. She seemed to be completely devoid of personality (it wasn’t just with me, she didn’t gel with the rest of the group either). Oh, and she was fascinated by her appearance. Honestly that girl had never met a shiny surface she didn’t peer at herself in. She spent about 2 hours a day in our shared bathroom, and was really only interested in logging onto the free wi-fi at any of the hotels we visited. I had to laugh when she was checking herself at in the mirror at immigration in Melbourne airport – I bet the dudes on the other side where having a good giggle too. The whole thing was poorly organised, was aimed at a different market than we sell too and allowed for practically no free time (normally it is about 50/50 work and play).

So I’m glad to be home, although I am away again tomorrow for our annual craft fair night out in BFE. After that I am going to buckle down – my eating has been out of control as well, and everything is starting to feel dangerously tight.

Tonight is the Grease sing-a-long. We are going as beauty school drop outs. It should be fun, although it is 4 of my friends, that aren’t really friends with each other, so I will be in peace keeper mode.


Firebabe November 11, 2016

"It has already had its inaugural cat spew on it..." Ha ha! We had the same thing right after our new carpet was installed, but ours was the ceremonial Dog Poop.

A craft fair night out sounds lovely!

FormerlyMe November 16, 2016

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.