Nojomo 7. Hazel O'Connor thought machines would end the world. in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

  • Nov. 9, 2016, 11:32 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s my dad’s birthday today. He’s 75 and I am incredibly lucky to have had my parents. Such amazing people who guided me towards an open and accepting adulthood. I didn’t send my dad a card, I’m shit at sending cards. However I always contact him one way or another. Today I sent an email and I thought I would share it here.

Hi dad,

On a day like today, when the worst news of 2016 is being aired on tv and radio, talked about on social media and in staff rooms. As friendships make and break based on opinion of American politics, there has been one bright light getting me through the day. That bright light has been your birthday. I’ve told all the kids at school (at least the ones I work with) that today is My Dad’s birthday and they all loved that information.

No matter what the news tells us, what hatred and fear has caused America to make an even worse voting decision than the UK did earlier this year, your birthday is a hugely important news item because you (together with mum) taught me how to live without hate and fear of those that are different.

One of my favourite childhood stories is one that ended in a bottle of Italian wine. When you were in the front garden and an Italian family stopped their car looking for Cawood campsite. At first you tried to direct them but it seemed easier to just show them. You got in your car and drove to Cawood, the family following behind in their car. A family you didn’t know and didn’t expect to hear from again. But they showed up a day or two later with a bottle of wine to say thank you. It’s those influences that helped me to become who I am, to help me believe in what I believe so thank you dad, for everything and for showing me how to best live my life.

Have a lovely, wonderful rest of your birthday. I love you,

xxxxxx


~Twinkle~ November 09, 2016

Lovely email, happy birthday to your Dad! X

Complicated Disaster November 09, 2016

What's done has been done, and I won't be the one
Who despairs in the wheelchair, resigned to 'if only'
No, I'll stand up again and I'll run
I'll jump up till I touch the sun
Because I won't be the one to be bound
By the sound of 'if only, if only, if only...'

ermentrude Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 09, 2016

"He said: Behold what man has done
There's not a world for anyone
Nobody laughed, nobody cried
World's at an end, everyone has died
Forever amen (amen), amen (amen), amen (amen)"

Hazel O'Connor - Eighth Day Lyrics

Complicated Disaster ermentrude ⋅ November 09, 2016

What's done has been done etc..

Hazel O'Conner - If Only Lyrics.
Also from Breaking Glass!

ermentrude Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 09, 2016

I know, I was just sharing the one to which I made reference, since you also used her lyrics.

Complicated Disaster ermentrude ⋅ November 09, 2016

Ahh. Fair enough. I thought you'd have guessed I'd know. I used to run the Hazel O'Connor fanclub! Honest!

ermentrude Complicated Disaster ⋅ November 09, 2016

Oh wow, I'm in awe! I was a huge fan in my punk phase in the 80s*

northern lights November 09, 2016

Lovely letter! Xx

Deleted user November 09, 2016

Aw..which father wouldn't love a message like that from his daughter.

Deleted user November 09, 2016

Happy Birthday to your Wonderful Dad , who gave us such a wonderful daughter and person to know! Don't totally despair about the US yet. I still think it may not turn out as badly as so many expect . A lot , actually almost all of it depends on we, the people. We are not powerless. We need to force positive change no matter who is President .

thesunnyabyss November 09, 2016

Happy Birthday to your Dad, what a wonderful story, renewed my faith in people today,

hugs

colojojo November 29, 2016

Awww incredibly sweet :) way better than a generic card :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.