My Maya in Gratitude

  • Nov. 8, 2016, 7:39 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I know, I know. Today I should be thankful for the right to vote. And I am. And I will, after I write this and get a shower. But politics isn’t really my thing, so.

So today I am mega grateful for my Maya. I know I already did an entry about pets. But Maya deserves her own entry. She is my touchstone. And maybe it’s silly, maybe she’s “just a dog”, but there’s no just about it for me. She’s MY dog, and she loves me unconditionally. She wakes me up in the morning with soft little kisses on my nose, she greets me when I get home from work with the most exuberant display of love I’ve ever seen. Yipping and yapping with her belly up until I drop all of my stuff and go pet her. And some people may find that annoying day after day, EVERY time you enter the house. But I do not. I find it endearing as fuck.

Every night, unless KC is here, Maya curls up behind my knees and sleeps. And that little 5# sack of warmth just keeps me grounded. It doesn’t help me sleep thru the night, but it reminds me when I wake up continually that I am not alone.

If I am home, Maya is by my side. Usually sleeping under a blanket, but somewhere close. She is not a typical chihuahua in that she’s not mean. She does tremble sometimes, but she’s as sweet a dog as anyone could ask for. It took her a little while, but she shows KC almost as much affection as she shows me. But in the meantime, she was never mean, just slightly afraid or aloof.

When her and the cat (Zelda) start playing with each other it makes me smile so hard my face hurts. Zelda is bigger and has claws, but that doesn’t stop Maya.

I love my litte Maya and would be lost without her!!
alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text


Firebabe November 08, 2016

DAT FACE. What a cutie!

Echo Firebabe ⋅ November 08, 2016

Isn't he? Oh I love her so much it's ridiculous!

Echo Firebabe ⋅ November 08, 2016

Isn't he? Oh I love her so much it's ridiculous!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.