Definitely a Milestone in Site Updates

  • Nov. 7, 2016, 6:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

For those of you who have been here for a while, you may remember when I used to do milestone entries like, “Hey, we just hit 500 users!” “Hey, we just passed the thousand user mark!” This was particularly satisfying while the Titanic was sinking (Open Diary).

I haven’t mentioned a milestone in a long time, so I thought it was worth mentioning this:

We just passed the half million entries mark.

Dude.

To mark the occasion, some beta improvements:

  • Added some small shortcut icons along the very top for Comments Received and Unread Bookmarks. You can get to them from the menu as well but it’s one less click.
  • Turned Comments into a dropdown menu with Comments Received and Comments sent.
  • Added a notification bar for new comments and new bookmarks (you can’t miss ‘em).

And with that, I’m off to bed. Stupid cold/flu season is trying to kill me.

UPDATE: All right, I’m back up again. Pushed out a goodie I’ve been working on for a little while. Seems to often be off by a day (some timezone thing I guess), but still a cool feature I think. Beta users who are prolific writers and have been here more than a year will probably notice it. :)

UPDATE PART DEUX: Fixed a nefarious bug in my new On This Day feature, and also I think it gets the actual day right now based on your local time. :)


Last updated November 07, 2016


Teflon Superhero November 07, 2016

holy snot, dude...that's impressive. The entries, not the snot, which might be impressive but I'm suffering right now as well so I don't feel too impressive.

Spilledperfume November 07, 2016

Woohoo! That is awesome.

simple mind Spilledperfume ⋅ November 07, 2016

:)

Deleted user November 07, 2016

<h1>26 here... I'm loving the new beta version. Keep up the awesome work!</h1>
simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 07, 2016

Hi 26! Thanks so much. :)

•kitkat• November 07, 2016

I LOVE the new Feature! Thanks so much!!

Deleted user November 07, 2016

So is it safe to save entries on pb.com or should i back them up somewhere? I'd like to switch to the new site exclusively

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ November 07, 2016

Oh yeah, it's the same database. Just as safe. I'll start pushing everyone over to prosebox.com soon anyway.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 07, 2016

yay

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ November 12, 2016

Is the search feature on the .com site going to search for users or something else ?

Lobbastah November 07, 2016

LOVE the On This Day feature! Fun!

WizeArtWorx November 07, 2016

that's awesome!!!! How do I see the On This Day feature?

simple mind WizeArtWorx ⋅ November 07, 2016

Just hop over to the beta site, log in to prosebox.com instead of prosebox.net (I'll be ushering everyone to the new site soon anyway).

WizeArtWorx simple mind ⋅ November 07, 2016

oh, cool- thanks! :)

WizeArtWorx simple mind ⋅ November 07, 2016

oh, cool- thanks! :)

Gilraent November 07, 2016

You're awesome :)

Deleted user November 07, 2016

Are you going to intact a email verification? Maybe clean out some socks and unused accounts?

middle age pearl November 07, 2016

1/2 Mill!!! That rocks!! Congrats!

dickson. November 07, 2016

I like to think I donated half a million of those entries.

simple mind dickson. ⋅ November 07, 2016

Thanks for being a donor. :)

NorthernSeeker November 07, 2016

Congrats on hitting the 500 000 milestone!

Deleted user November 07, 2016

Oh my goodness... just saw the 'On this day' feature! I'm not on FB and get a bit envious of that feature that those there enjoy. LOVE it.

raynedrop November 07, 2016

Cheers to your milestone!

MageB November 10, 2016

Marvelous.!!!!

Marg November 12, 2016

Well done! That's an awesome milestone!! I can't find the 'On This Day' feature though? Where is it?

simple mind Marg ⋅ November 12, 2016

It shows up on the right sidebar of entries, if there's anything relevant to show.

Marg simple mind ⋅ November 14, 2016

I don't see anything at all :( Would it make any difference if I'm looking at it on my iPad?

Marg simple mind ⋅ November 14, 2016

Ok I've narrowed this down a little - it appears to be on some diaries but not others. I've deliberated searched diaries that have many entries but there's nothing there. And nothing on mine. However it randomly appears on others. What criteria does it use?

simple mind Marg ⋅ November 14, 2016

Entries have to be at least a year old, written on the same calendar day, same author, and you have to have permission. If the query doesn't find any it doesn't display anything.

Marg simple mind ⋅ November 15, 2016

Ah - same calendar day may well be the sticking point. Thanks for explaining though :)

Deleted user November 16, 2016

Woohoo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.