Late autumn in the garden in The View from the Terrace

  • Nov. 6, 2016, 7:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday was a beautiful day, bitterly cold but filled with sunshine. I love the way, when the sun is low, that it filters through the leaves. I can’t seem to catch it on camera, perhaps I need a more expensive one. I wish I could paint, something in the impressionist style could capture exactly what I mean. Hubby paints but he mainly copies photos from magazines or postcards. I don’t get that. We live in a beautiful area, you could paint a dozen beautiful pictures without leaving our house or garden. We have the Black Mountains on one side, the Golden Valley on the other, and a wooded hill opposite. A short journey away there are castles, pretty river valleys, fascinating villages, and the sunsets from the house are amazing. But when he paints he just copies pictures of places he hasn’t seen in real life.

Yesterday I just had to brave the cold and spend some time in the garden. I needed to rescue the last of my fuchsias from the hanging baskets, but mostly I wanted to be out in the sunshine. I planted a few pots of winter pansies for the window sills and put up the winter hanging baskets and window boxes.

This is the little train that Cat bought me for my birthday filled with the violets that I found in Dorchester market.
alt text

This is the view from our bedroom looking over the Golden Valley.
alt text

The photos were taken a couple of weeks ago and we have lost a lot of the leaves now but it is still lovely.


ODSago November 06, 2016

Darling little train...and that view!! I wish you could paint, too--what a marvelous subject matter is there. Maybe because light is always changing your husband enjoys it being static in those pictures so he can stop and return to find them all the same. It's a thought. What appeals to one artist doesn't appeal to others sometimes and that's good for us as viewers...lots more to see.

Deleted user November 06, 2016

Beautiful !!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.