mi familia? in Gratitude

  • Nov. 5, 2016, 3:51 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I’m grateful for my family. I know I bitch about some of them a lot. But really, my sister, my mother, and one of my brothers mean to the world to me. I still feel a lot of hatred towards one brother, and I’m just not close with the other two. So. Those three are my core family members who I think about when I think about family.

I’m grateful that they’ve always loved and supported me. Even when it felt like they weren’t. Grateful that they adopted me and kept me safe while at the same time affirming that I wasn’t “given up” for adoption because I was unloved or unwanted, but rather that my birth mother wanted a better life for me. Which, after 25 years, I found to be true.

I’m grateful for GS, the birth mother, for giving me up for adoption. If she hadn’t, I wouldn’t have the life that I have now. And I’m pretty fond of the life that I have now, and where things’ve taken me.

I would write a bunch more, but KC is here and she’s in the shower at the moment, so I should be attentive and whatnot when she gets out.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.