Flood reroutes 2011, called to protect the grade at Big Lift, CO in Tales of the Jointed Track

  • Nov. 6, 2016, 7:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was asked to help out in the “Corridor area” during the flood re-routes, summer of 2011. This route is stressed, so lets add extra trains. Promoted engineers, who transferred to other Divisions, were called back. We even had those, who were displaced, due to the floods on their territory, come in here. So they were working the Joint-Line, Brush sub, out of Trinidad on the C&S, and to Cheyenne. I am sure it extended elsewhere, but I was assigned a specific territory. My “Basic ” territory working as a troubleshooter was Big Lift North to the Denver 31st St Terminal. Rennicks yard to Utah JCT. The Denver terminal itself. I could go a little east, maybe to the “Mills” if need, ( 3 miles east or 38th Street) but that was rare. Just between Littleton, CO and the 31st Street terminal, I had more than I could handle on most days.

I am to report at 900 am on the “Corridor”, coming off rest days. The phone rings at 700 pm, it is Larry Kreger, my supervisor, and General Road Foreman of Engines for the Division. “Hey, I need you to report to Big Lift for your rotation, we are short on the day side due to vacations. We have the night side covered”. “Who is doing the Corridor?” “They are informed, you may not be available, but if slow, ya can get South Denver to Littleton. Do what ya can, but protect the Hill”. “Okay, we’ll do what we can do”.

I’ll go in 2 hours earlier, but hey it is 12 minutes from home. I transfer, with the night man. I catch a held empty at Oxford. Get that done. Then head up to the Palmer Lake area. Catch the emergency units, at Castle Rock, Larkspur, and Palmer Lake. My biggest problem, is at Larkspur. An “Air Start” SD-70MACE.. The “populace” is complaining of this ol bitch, firing off at night. So, try to get a GE EVO, C-44-AC, or SD-70-MAC, which we can shut down.

Palmer Lake MP 51.6, afternoon emergency call and stall:

They are re-routing southbound traffic, on the northbound or main 2. That is okay, but at Larkspur the grade steepens and the curves will drag down ya as well. Hey NOC wisdom, don’t ask for a helper. Oh a crew start, and maybe keep your dumb ass, from screwing itself, in the long run.

Coal Load main Two Southbound:

It is a typical clear hot, summer day on the Joint-Line. The temps are in the mid to upper 90’s, and close to that at 7300 feet around the “Lake”.

Two 9400 series, SD-70-MAC’s, one on the lead consist and one on the DP.. LOL poor old warn out warriors. It has gotten warmer, LOL it is summer. The 9400’s will shut down, and they will stall, due to overheating the traction motors. Well, that is exactly what happened, just a half a mile from the top, of Palmer Lake.

I just had gotten into the office. A stale cup of 7/11 coffee and an overcooked 1/4 lbs hotdog, after getting the truck fueled up. Catch up, log stuff in and a little gourmet dining.

The phone rings, and its the Chief, in a panic. “Where are you?”. “Just back at Big Lift, whats the problem?” “Main Two, a load has stalled short of the summit. They are looking it over, but we’re plugged for Northbound traffic now”. “On the way, be there in 35 to 40 minutes, I’ll have to take, the Douglas County open space trail road at Greenland to reach the Helpers”. Silence. Okay, now to figure out where the rear-end is actually. I’ll be hiking in, but I’ll get a visual sooner or later. No chatter on the radio, but I am still too far out to reply if I hear ‘em.

I get on train tracker and see what is the consist and crew. Kennard Pfalmer is the engineer, so that is a plus. There is also some “new” support officials riding as well, but lets see what they can figure out, before I get there.

Greenland / Douglas County Open Space:

Well off on the Greenland exit, at I-25 and onto Noe Road. Head straight, to the parking lot for the open space, but stop at the access gates. I have a BNSF M.O.W. key for the locks. Now this gate has about six intertwined locks, belonging to, Douglas County, area ranchers, the UP, and BNSF. This is a puzzle, but figured out, close and re-lock, double check and up the trail. From where I am at can’t see the helpers. Plus to compound the situation is there is “wetlands” areas, which you cant get to the mainline. I think he is around the MP 50.6 area, but ya never know.

A glow of a headlight, from the DP, and the offending 9400 series, lol around the MP 49.8 area, and on a big rise. to climb. I pull off the trail into short grass, so I don’t start a fire with the catalytic converter igniting the prairie grass. I get the packset, climbing gear, lederhosen, and a quick Yodel and I am off to the DP’s. I climb side ways sinking into soft soil, but I make it. Okay, no lederhosen or climbing gear.

“Kennard, Bob outta Big Lift Set and center for me and consider attached, I am at the DP consist”. The reply is acknowledged. On arrival, both units are at idle, I board the 9400 series unit, check water levels and enter the cab. Ah, a visitor,lol, a PNW area Division Road Foreman, bewildered. “Hi , Bob outta Big Lift, troubleshooter”. Pleasantries, exchanged. “What did ya find “? Okay, was that a plasma physics question? “Well I isolated the unit, and it said ground relay lockout”. “Okay, and did ya get into, the diagnostics”. Blank stare, am I speaking in Aramaic, at this juncture. I get into the diagnostics, yep ground relay lockout, but VICTORY, only one time. “Kennard, is that 9400 still down?” “Yes”. Okay, send someone, or yourself, back and call me”. I get them into that diagnostic. “How many times had that Ground relay lockout tripped”? “Once”. Wow … this is working out well. “Gimme the number of the unit, and I will call mechanical, and we’ll proceed from there”.

I tone up mechanical, but I have too and , I will use the hotline. 15 minutes pass, yeah they are busy, I use the HOTLINE. “NOC MECHANICAL answering the hotline” . “Sorry, Bob out of Big Lift, train stall, need to get the mainline open”. The problem were related, and smell of any lingering after affects, not noted. We were given authority to reset and correct the problem. “If they trip again, call us, BNSF Ft. Worth Mechanical out”. “Kennard, ya re-set up there?” “Yes” “Okay driving up, to the head end, will roll ya out the “Lake”.

The Road Foreman in tow, I said watch yer footing on the way down, it is a nasty way to the truck. We drive back, to the south access trail head. Hopefully there is a gate, and there is, and the lock puzzle.

“I wish we had, people like you on our Division, I can’t believe what you guys accomplish”. “Well, it is troubleshooting, that isn’t taught anymore. Common sense and seeing what is there”.

The Road Foreman is delivered. I detach from the train and say, when your ready. The train starts relatively with ease, and the roll by is successful, both are running and the dynamics, are easing in. I follow to Monument, CO and ask if there is any wheelslip or problems. “Nothing noted, all working like they should.”
“Great on the way back to Big Lift”. A quick call to the Chief, and all is well for the time being.


Last updated August 10, 2019


ChallengerSeven November 07, 2016

Excellent first-person story.

In today's society, troubleshooting is not taught anymore. :-(

Brakeshoe Bob ChallengerSeven ⋅ November 07, 2016

Yep... makes me crazy.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.