Sing me a song, mr. piano man... in Gratitude

  • Nov. 4, 2016, 10:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

What am I grateful for today....

Music.

Music has always been a powerful force in my life. Growing up, my mum and sister were always humming, singing, playing the organ. On car trips, which were frequent to my nana’s who lived four hours away and to my brother’s, who lived 6 hours away, John Denver was usually on deck. If not him, a book on tape, but usually Johnny Boy was the way to go. Many kids probably would’ve rebelled and learned to hate John Denver. He wasn’t your typical 10 year old’s artist of choice. But he was what I knew, and I loved him. I was part of his fan club for years. I saw him in concert 4 times. I own most of his cd’s. I bawled like a baby when my mum called me with the news that he crashed his plane into a mountain. I still pop in one of his cd’s when I’m feeling nostalgic or just need comfort. My mum doesn’t like him anymore, I think because he maybe killed himself and she resents him for that. But me, I’m still hooked. He’ll always be my Johnny Boy. :)

Other favourites…well, ok, I have too many to list. At the moment my Napster-formerly-Rhapsody playlist is stuck on Lindsey Sterling, with the 21 Pilots song Heathens stuck in there. As well as Good Grief by Bastille. I don’t know how to insert videos into this, so you should go find them on your own and give them a good listen. I have them on repeat at work lately.

Some other old favourites include Ani DiFranco…I’ve seen her in concert 3 times…Natalie Merchant. Sarah MacLachlan. Faith Hill. Matchbox20. Phil Collins. All the people from my childhood. P!nk is another one. Tori Amos.

Some newer favourites- Ingrid Michaelson. Missy Higgins. Namoli Brennet. She’s awesome. She has 10 or 11 cd’s, but isn’t radio-famous. Just famous in her circle of fans. She tours quite often and just released a cd from her tour in Germany. She’s a transgender musician with roots in Arizona, but now I believe she lives in Iowa or somewhere not Arizona. lol. I should know where she lives, but I don’t!

Anyways. Music has always been a catalyst for me. Musicians that I listen to are the ones who can explain how I’m feeling when I can’t do it on my own. I love songs that tell stories. I love musicians who put their hearts on their sleeves. I love when I can feel myself in the refrain.

So I’m grateful to all of the musicians who got me thru my 20s. And 30s. LOL. And the ones who get me through every day. There were times in therapy where I’d just make my therapist sit and listen to various songs. Or I’d make her mixed CD’s, because they spoke better than I was able. I’m grateful to music for giving me a voice when I had none of my own to give.


Firebabe November 04, 2016

Apocalyptica. A heavy metal cello is a concept most people wouldn't even try to listen to, but I swear to god, those dudes know how to set music on fire.

Echo Firebabe ⋅ November 04, 2016

Listening to them now. Not my usual brand, but I'm digging it, thanks!!

Firebabe Echo ⋅ November 04, 2016

I think their cover of Metallica's "Unforgiven" is my absolute fav.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.