tous les livres in dum spiro spero

  • Nov. 4, 2016, 9:49 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Hey…

finally got a shiny new library card.
It’s been almost-five years since I went to the library or bookstore because: crazy.

Anyfuck.

So, when I stepped into the foyer of the library, it was like coming home.

I dunno ‘bout you, but I have a nose like a goddamned bloodhound and the smell of books - all rich and woody and musty - evokes a visceral response.

It’s all words and ideas and art and quiet and comfort and refuge.
It’s that punch-in-the-gut that fiction hit me with when I was nine years old - shag-cut-70s-Suzy Q with her first-ever shiny new library card.

SO.

I know some of you rowdy broads have kept a monthly-updated, year-long reading-list on the go, here, in PeeBee Land.

Gimme your Absolute Top 5 Picks, plz.


Last updated December 21, 2016


pandora November 04, 2016

  1. Commonwealth - Ann Patchett
  2. Tiny Beautiful Things - Cheryl Strayed
  3. State of Wonder - Ann Patchett
  4. The Art of Racing in the Rain - Garth Stein
  5. Unbroken - Laura Hillenbrand

*bonus, written by a woman who taught at McGill--The Autobiography of Red by Anne Carson

MaggieTheCat November 04, 2016

I hate recommending ANYTHING. But I also loved "Commonwealth." :)

plushcreep November 04, 2016

Who ya callin' a rowdy broad?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.