Trying something a little different in Site Updates

  • Jan. 15, 2014, 7:19 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I've heard complaints about the entry page being totally boxed in. And I understand. I think it could cause claustrophobia on a larger display. So I moved the floating nav bar under the menu on the left side, opening up the whole right side for the entry. And a little extra padding when you stretch things out to make it feel roomy.

That's the idea anyway.


Deleted user January 15, 2014

Much, much better. Thank you so much!

Deleted user January 15, 2014

I didn't notice I don't think.

Flame is Love January 15, 2014

The nag bar is appearing and disappearing on Safari on my iPad. It's...distracting.

simple mind Flame is Love ⋅ January 15, 2014

Yeah, so I see it is... I'll work on that.

Princess Buttercup simple mind ⋅ January 15, 2014

It is also doing this on Firefox...

Flame is Love January 15, 2014

Nav. Holy typo, Batman!

edna million Flame is Love ⋅ January 15, 2014

...........ok. Going to stop joking about the Nag Button now since I keep accidentally making private notes. "Put down that beer and go do something constructive!!!"

edna million Flame is Love ⋅ January 15, 2014

Dear Simple Minds,

We need a note edit/delete function. Well, some of us do. I won't nag you about it, though.

Deleted user January 15, 2014

Even better with the nav bar pinned.

edna million January 15, 2014

That does look more roomy - thanks!

Spilledperfume January 15, 2014

I'm with Joe Curious on this one. I'm sure it looks better.

Deleted user January 15, 2014

Looks great, thanks! Is there a way to change the size of images? If we post a small image, it expands to fill the whole space; there's no code to change that, is there? Thanks for your work!

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ January 15, 2014

The simple way to do it: https://www.prosebox.net/entry/1600/prosebox-faq-putting-images-into-your-entries/

The advanced way to do it (which also lets you title and caption photos): https://www.prosebox.net/entry/32980/prosebox-faq-how-to-resize-and-caption-images-and-video-using-thumbnails/

Deleted user Deleted user ⋅ January 16, 2014

Thank you!! :)

simple mind Deleted user ⋅ January 15, 2014

I don't think Prosebox expands images any larger than they already are. One solution is to resize it down to the size you want before you upload to whatever image hosting you use. If you resize a huge image on the web page so that it appears small, it's still downloading a huge image to send across the wire - which is slower, and burns more of your bandwidth if you have a limited allowance.

Deleted user simple mind ⋅ January 16, 2014

Thank you! :)

Cat Mommy January 16, 2014

If you're going to stick with this can I suggest the nav bar goes back to being above an entry? It's a pain to have to scroll all the way down past the other nav bars to switch entries. I personally didn't mind the way it was before but I understand why it was annoying for some. Thanks. :)

.Java.Junkie. Cat Mommy ⋅ January 20, 2014

Agreed. I am finding that I like the old way better

Deleted user January 16, 2014

I have a wide screen, but it never bothered me. Looking at the openness of it now, it is nice. :)

Great job dude, as always. :D

Leslie Bruce January 16, 2014

Not sure if it's just me, but when I went to delete a comment (that I put in the wrong place, was trying to reply) the box that came up as "are you sure you want to delete" was off the page, had to scroll over.

simple mind Leslie Bruce ⋅ January 16, 2014

Yeah, haven't figured out that one yet. Works fine with the default theme, but the other themes push it off the page to the right.

EvequeFou January 16, 2014

I like having the nav box on the left, and having it "stick" to the top of the screen as you go down. But I'm seeing it jump from being below the ad to sitting on top of the ad at a certain point -- it's like it gets ahead of itself about when to jump to the top. (As usual, IE11/Win8.1.)

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ January 16, 2014

Still doing that? I "fixed" that this morning, or so I thought. Though I suppose depending on CSS inconsistencies and themes being used, that position could vary.

simple mind EvequeFou ⋅ January 16, 2014

Try it now. I'm actually calculating the position to lock it so it should be consistent now.

Lobbastah January 16, 2014

I'm not crazy about it. I liked the entry being in the center, and now my screen is asymmetrical. And my toe hurts. whine whine bitch moan

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ January 16, 2014

So basically what you're saying is it's simple not possible to please everyone. ;)

Lobbastah simple mind ⋅ January 16, 2014

That, and that my toe hurts. And I like symmetry. :)

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen simple mind ⋅ January 19, 2014

Lol.....but you sure are trying dang hard....! And we love you for it....

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ January 16, 2014

*simply

Lobbastah simple mind ⋅ January 16, 2014

Hey, you changed something. The entry is now centering in the box. I like it much better now. (I'm weird.)

simple mind Lobbastah ⋅ January 16, 2014

Yeah, I'm messing with it. :)

H. Majesty T. Mudfish Queen Lobbastah ⋅ January 19, 2014

Lol......

Cat Mommy January 16, 2014

I'm not super keen on how small you've made the entry area now. It's actually smaller than it was before it made it bigger (if that made sense) with a lot of empty space around the actual entry. It looks... off.

simple mind Cat Mommy ⋅ January 16, 2014

I'm continuing to refine it. Hard part is trying to strike a good balance for all screen widths. I think it's better now.

Cat Mommy simple mind ⋅ January 16, 2014

It's still smaller than it was before you started changing the width. I can tell because all my entries are formatted to only be five lines long (on my screen size, not mobile or anything and my screen is 19') but now most of my paragraphs are six lines. I know you're trying to strike a balance but I feel like making it smaller than it was is creating more of a problem.

It kind of looks bigger but the width of the text is way smaller with huge amounts of empty space on each side. All my photos were sized exactly to fit how it shows on my screen but now all of them are too big so they look blurry due to the website squishing the images.

Soul Karma January 16, 2014

Woo!

Deleted user January 17, 2014

I must think / navigate differently from others, as the "nav bar" never seems to point anywhere I want to go and so I never use it. A link to the person's (or book's) previous / next entry, along with the titles of those entries, would be nice, though.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.