Nojomo 5 (originally 4). The Rebel in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

  • Nov. 5, 2016, 9:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

In the eighties, my brother had a girlfriend called Margaret. I loved Margaret immensely and we became friends too. On a school exchange trip to Germany we buddied up, we shared music and humour and I always felt I could talk to her about anything. She was passionate, slightly left of centre (in a very good way) and was a big influence on my life.

She bought my brother a gift once, it was a poster that he put up on his bedroom wall. I think I’ve talked about this poster on entries before - possibly not since prose box, possibly in the old days of open diary.

I have looked for this poster, periodically, over the years. Searched by title, by description and never found it.

Last night I was drinking a lemon and ginger tea infusion, sitting amicably next to Rich who was watching the final game in the (amusingly named) World Series. I was absently scrolling through Facebook when my brain registered an image, I hadn’t even seen it closely; just the colours. I let out quite an audible gasp which made Rich look over, worried.

My brain had linked to the image that had had such an impact three decades ago, a picture that helped to shape a lot of my political opinions at a time when my mind was far more malleable, fresh play dough.

It was on a Facebook page I follow which helps students to practice their Spanish which asked what we thought was going on in this picture and what we would guess to be the title. I responded with:

He estado buscando para este imagen durante muchos años - mi hermano lo tenía en su dormitorio durante las ochenta con el título El Rebelde. Me afectaba mucho y me influyo mucho en mis opiniones politicos durante mi vida. Gracias para compartirlo.
(I’ve been searching for this image for many years - my brother had it in his bedroom in the eighties with the title The Rebel. It affected me greatly and influenced my political opinions during my life. Thanks for sharing it).

The Rebel

The Rebel photo 14938142_792361924237841_2159443526166507762_n_2.jpg


northern lights November 05, 2016

thesunnyabyss November 05, 2016

I liked it on Facebook, but now hearing the story behind it, gotta love it!

Deleted user November 06, 2016

Love it...it's so you!

Deleted user November 06, 2016

I love it !

colojojo November 29, 2016

Your Spanish is quite good!

ermentrude colojojo ⋅ November 29, 2016

My Spanish is very good 😉 x

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.