Nojomo 3 aka Yorkshire chapatis. Photo edit. in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

Revised: 11/03/2016 1:59 p.m.

  • Nov. 3, 2016, 12:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

After using sausage based examples in my maths groups this week I really fancied toad in the hole. It really is the most comforting of all comfort food. Nicely browned sausages encased in large quantities of Yorkshire pud. Blimey, what more could you want?

We always have eggs in, I keep a stock of sausages in the freezer for emergency purposes. The rest is just stock cupboard food. You know, stuff your always have in…

I looked on my flour /sugar shelf… A very empty looking bag of plain flour stood there, forlorn and abandoned, next to a proud, upright bag of self raising.

Now, for those Yorkshire pudding aficionados who are aware, self raising flour is the last thing you wanna use for Yorkshires, they just won’t rise using it!.

I contemplated a flat version of the savoury pudding but it just didn’t ring true so I rummaged. And behind my granulated sugar I found a rather old packet of chapati flour… ingredients: wheat flour

Well, my normal flour is also wheat flour so… What do I have to lose??

The sausages are browning, the oven is heating and the mix is ready to go on. Keep your fingers crossed that this Indian/British food amalgamation will go beautifully.

Photo....

 photo IMG_20161103_182605.jpg

It was rather dense and heavy!


Last updated November 03, 2016


Deleted user November 03, 2016

I never even heard of " Toad in the hole " :-) !

thesunnyabyss November 03, 2016

I did not know that, and what we call toad in a hole is an egg in the middle of a piece of piece,

have a great meal!!!

Deleted user November 03, 2016

Toads are cute where they belong ; not so much the idea of them cooked :-)

Deleted user November 03, 2016

Mmmmmmmmmmm

colojojo November 29, 2016

Someone only told me what toad in the hole is a couple weeks ago. Such odd food the English have :p

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.