Singledom in It's a Suhaila!

  • Nov. 3, 2016, 5:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

When did November get here?

I didn’t do anything for Halloween - looking after Jasmine takes up more than enough of my time as it is right now. There were too many fireworks going off around here as well for my liking, so I didn’t want to take her anywhere neither. Instead, just sat and cuddled her on the sofa for a while, before giving her a bath and putting her to bed.

University - I’ve been searching online and have found that I can start with the Open University in February, to study Maths and Physics which will give me a BSc (Hons) degree. I can go full time (16-18 hours a week) and do it in three years, or half that and take six years. I’m thinking if I take the three year option, then I will complete it just as Jasmine is due to start school so the timing will be perfect. The only problem is fining the money to pay for it all. I guess it’s time to sweet-talk my parents into helping me out.

In my last entry, I was going to go out with friends. Well, I went, and had a nice time - and before you ask yes I did stay on the fruit juice. I ended up meeting their university friends - one of them a guy who took a bit of a shine to me and was getting a bit flirty. I didn’t stick around as I didn’t want to get carried away on the spot, and also there was some sort of hinting being dropped by a few of my friends to sneak off early.

Which I did. But no not like that. I had my get-out clause as I had to get home for Jasmine - yes I should be allowed time out to myself, but no I’m not going to dump her on my parents for hours on end. I did get the distinct impression that sex was on the cards, but with all that’s happened to me, part of me said go for it and meet him, part of me said no, are you doing this for the right reasons.

At this point I need to give a message of thanks to one of my friends on here, who I spoke with through here and helped me see things more clearly (you know who you are), so I called him back a few days after that and turned him down. I don’t want to give the impression of being ‘easy’, I don’t want to be a source of bragging, and as my sister said to me the other day “Sounds like you were unsure so you did the right thing.” Also, I still need to get re-tested to make sure I am actually clear, no thanks to my ex. Which reminds me, I need to call and make an appointment.

Wow this was longer than I thought.


northern lights November 03, 2016

What about student finance?

Deleted user November 03, 2016

Good luck in school!

Deleted user November 03, 2016

Good move turning down the guy. You don't need that drama right now!

Deleted user November 04, 2016

Yes, I agree you need to hold off on any new relationships for awhile. You have had enough stress in your life for now .

history of love November 14, 2016

I hope your uni plans work out - is there any kind of student finance support you can get? From my own experience, the OU student support people are lovely and have helped me decide which modules I can/can't take (my degree is in Humanities).
Hope you & your little girl are doing ok.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.