oh deer in Gratitude

  • Nov. 2, 2016, 6:50 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So. I clipped a deer on my way home from work last night. I don’t think I actually hit it, but it touched my car after the person in front of me hit it. I remember seeing the light shine in its eyes and it reminded me of Lucy. The way I could tell the exact second the life left her because her eyes went from shiny to dull.

Anyways. Gratitude. My fuzzy furballs get the award tonite. (I actually wrote this entry around 11pm last night, but it didn’t save....so this will probably be the less sentimental, more condensed version. Lucky you!)

First I’ll start with my sweet Maya. If I had to pick a favourite, it would be her. She is so full of unconditional love it’s downright crazy. The cats....they love me. But they are cats. Not super clingy cats. A bit more aloof than clingy cats. But not totally standoffish, either. I love them, don’t get me wrong. But my dog…growing up I was always a “dog person” and now I’ve come full circle back to that. I can’t describe how much happiness and serenity that that five pound ball of fur and muscle gives me.

and she loves me even when I torture her, lol
alt text

Next is Caraway. She is a tiny black cat with green eyes. She’s hard to get on film cuz she’s so dark, but she’s really quite lovely. She was a gift from an ex girlfriend. A surprise gift. heh. I don’t recommend ever getting someone an animal as a surprise gift. I mean, I love her but I hadn’t been in the market for another cat- I already had at least one if not 2 at the time. Plus there are costs associated with pet ownership. She promised to pay half, but she never did. And we weren’t even really girlfriends or dating. She had another girlfriend the whole time I knew her. shrugs I still love Cara on the rare opportunities that she comes out of hiding to see me. I am half heartedly trying to rehome her, because she hates the dog. But maybe if I get this house…WHEN I get this house…she’ll be happier with more space to hide from the dog. And maybe she’ll stop peeing on the floor.

This was during one of her short hair phases....
alt text

And then there’s Zelda. One day, after Journey and Pandora had both died, I felt that Caraway was lonely. And I wanted another cat. I didn’t have any dogs yet. So I went on a hunt for a cat. Looked at the local shelters, scoured craig’s list. Finally a friend pointed me to a sort of foster network of people in the next town over. One woman had a cat ready for a home. She just happened to be calico-tortie, which was fate, as I’d always wanted a calico cat. And I instantly fell in love. She’s the only cat I’ve had that I haven’t had to declaw. She’s ultra sociable and greets me at the door every day with Maya. She’s also rather beautiful.

alt text

And of course there’s also Calypso and Cordova, the cockatiels. They bring a lot of joy to my life too, with their constant birdsong and antics. I really love having birds, especially in the winter time. I can’t find any good pictures of them, but maybe I will later.

I would be lost without my furry darlings. I know people get upset when people compare having pets to having kids…shrugs They are my furbabies. I love them with all of my heart and do everything I can to protect and shelter them, as well as give them as good as a life as I’m able. So. Whatevs. :) I am grateful to them for proving me with endless love and entertainment. And for bringing me comfort and joy, comfort and joy....(Sorry, woman at work had xmas music playing on her computer today....)


Firebabe November 02, 2016

You can't beat having a furfamily. :-)

Echo Firebabe ⋅ November 02, 2016

Nope, you can't!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.