Baby led weaning I suppose? in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Oct. 26, 2016, 9:58 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I just spent 2 hours fiddling with my medela swing breast pump to get the suction to start working better and I don’t even know what I did but I finally got it working. I pumped an ounce or so just to make sure it worked well and then sterilized all the parts, took a picture of it and put it up for sale. I used to pump once a day but Summer is not a big fan of bottles. She halfheartedly chews them when offered one and gives me a look like ‘seriously?’ I have a manual pump I can use if I decide to pump anymore. I use to have a small stockpile in the freezer but it’s gone now. I should probably make another one that’s at least a few bottles worth in case I’m sick or something. She might take the bottle if she had no other choice. I put the pump on my local buy and sell page as well as kijiji so hopefully someone needs one. If I don’t get any bites within a week I might post it on ebay or something.

I sold my old cell phone that had a smashed screen yesterday and put some more baby clothes up for sale but I didn’t manage to get any baby food made. But I’m not sure if I’m going to make many more purees to be honest. Cody and Miles loved purees but she’s so unsure about them. I think I’m going to go the baby led weaning route this time. While I had my lunch today I gave her the whites of a hard boiled egg and some banana on her high chair tray and she loved it. I can’t believe she can already figure out how to get it in her mouth at this age. She hasn’t got a perfect pincer grasp but it’s getting there. I was just reading about baby led weaning because she seems to want to feed herself. Should be interesting! My parents gave us a ton of carrots and parsnips when they left so I’m going to go bake a couple for her to try. It’s so cute watching her eat! And she’s so busy doing it that I can usually manage to get something done like eat myself or clean the kitchen or something.

Speaking of food, I have had the worst sweet tooth lately! Last night I felt like I just wanted to tear into the kitchen and eat and eat but I restrained myself somehow. Mike said I’m crazy and I should have just eaten but I told him I’d already eaten all my calories for the day so I couldn’t. I feel nervous when I get like that because I don’t want to affect my milk supply but it seems to be good still. I tend to have an oversupply to begin with. Ughhh I’m so tired of restraining myself from eating whatever the hell I want. That was one of the great things about pregnancy for me. I just ate and ate, didn’t really exercise and didn’t care. Sounds healthy, right? haha. I’m close enough to my goal weight right now that I would be okay with taking a bit of a break from losing weight/eating perfectly but I don’t want to do that until the weight loss competition is over. 12 days to go! lol

Ah well....time to go do the dishes while both kids sleep. Only took me 3 hours to write this entry lol (in my spare moments).


Sapphire's Gaze October 26, 2016

I loved BLW with my three kids, it worked so well for us as a family and we barely did any purees at all! If you've got any questions about the process of what worked/didn't work, happy to answer! 😊

Sapphire's Gaze October 26, 2016

My twins were 6 months old when we started them with solids, and Rowan was 5 months.

lessoff October 27, 2016

I didn't do BLW, well not really. we did the gerber foods. but now she eats mostly what we eat (unless it is a choking hazard or she doesn't like it)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.