Tuesdays day plan in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Oct. 25, 2016, 1:20 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Summer woke at 4am this morning for a feeding and took forever to get back to sleep rocking her in the rocking chair afterwards. Maybe I’m picky but I do NOT get my babies up and downstairs until 6am. Before that time it is time to sleep! So at 5am she was finally back asleep so I popped her in the bassinet and went back to sleep. 45 minutes later she was up for the day. Ughhh. 5:45am is not a nice time to wake up. Oh and did I tell you my delightful little girl wakes up spitting these days? lol. It’s something she does when she’s getting annoyed. She spits. It’s like a warning that if you don’t attend to her soon, crying will follow. Oh and btw she goes to bed at 7pm these days and usually wakes for 2 feedings a night. Which isn’t terrible. The boys were up like 5 times a night sometimes at this age. She’s very consistent with her 2 times. So I usually don’t feel like a Mombie which is nice.

So, since I’m not working right now and am home with my kids I wake up every morning and think ‘what am I going to do with my day today?’ and I sort of make a rough plan. Some days the plan is no plan, as in stay home, don’t go anywhere and just play with the kids and do whatever like some tidying. Today I think I’m going to make some more baby food for Summer because I’ve been slacking in that department. She’s been trying solids for a month and a half now and she’s only had baby cereal, sweet potatoes, peas and apples that I’ve made. And I bought a few things at the store to try mostly because I didn’t feel like making them right now (prunes, pears, mango). She is so different than my boys because they were super eager about eating and she is done after 10 bites or less. She loves baby oatmeal the most and sometimes will eat a decent amount of it but everything else is like 5-10 small bites and she’s over it lol. My boys literally liked every kind of baby food except for green beans! And she didn’t even like apples lol. Too sour? Who knows! Picky, picky. I think I will make carrots for her today and see how that goes.

I think with the extra money I’m making selling things I’m going to start ordering a few things for the boys for Christmas and put them away so we will have less to spend in December. Like some new building toys. They absolutely LOVE building toys and it’s fun trying different kinds. I think I will get them squigz and straw connectors next. Building toys are the best because they can use them again and again and it’s something fun to do in the winter. I even like playing with them. I’ll have to remember not to buy anything with small pieces because of Summer. So I may need to rethink those 2 building toys and get something with bigger pieces. Well, maybe squigz will be ok. So far the building toys we play with that they have played with a million times and love are megabloks, lego, bristle brushes, wooden blocks, magformers and the cheaper version called playmags which drive me a bit nuts because they’re not really a strong enough magnet and have caused many tears from falling over structures.... and we tried tinkertoys but they didn’t really like them. My MIL is going shopping at a far away mall in November so she requested a Christmas list for the kids by November 1st latest. So maybe I will work on that today. I always have to make a list for her and her mom....another one for my side of the family....and then one of what we want to get them. They get so spoiled. Mike and I decided this year we’re only going to get them a few things each. Like a Santa gift and a couple other things we know they’ll love. Cuz honestly, they get so much from family that every year is totally overwhelming and I even take some stuff back (like when my brother with no kids gets them non age appropriate stuff). And Summer will just get a couple small things from us :)

I didn’t even finish saying what I’m going to do today lol. Make baby food. I think I will take my smashed older cell phone to a guy who said he would buy it off of me. Work on Christmas lists for the kids. Oh and I want to try and figure out what is wrong with my Medela breast pump so I can sell it. I rarely pump now and when I do I’m fine just to use the manual one. If I can’t figure out what’s wrong with the pump I will call their help line :) I think I bought it for $50 so I should be able to get close to the same when I sell it.

Speaking of Christmas, I saw someone post on Facebook this morning that in 7 days they can start playing Christmas music lol. I guess once Halloween is over it’s fair game. Still a bit early for me though, as much as I love the Christmas season.


lessoff October 25, 2016

we do egg Wednesdays! im lame. I feel like my husband knows exactly how to entertain her, meanwhile im like umm....ok lets try this! (walks are my go to thing) turns out she likes to bang on pots and pans. I wouldn't have even thought to give her a spoon to hit the pans. those are dishes not toys! LOL maybe I need to remember to use my imagination.

Sapphire's Gaze October 26, 2016

Does Summer like picking up finger foods yet? I found that holding a 'stick' of something kept my babies occupied at dinner time when the rest of the family ate.

Also re: building toys, how about something with enclosed magnets?

It's_all_a_journey Sapphire's Gaze ⋅ October 26, 2016

lol I just finished writing an entry about how I'm going to try baby led weaning where they hold a stick of some kind of food and gnaw on it :)

They love toys with magnets! My favorite ones are really expensive though (magformers) so I'll have to see what I can find

Sapphire's Gaze It's_all_a_journey ⋅ October 27, 2016

Magformers are awesome, we have a basic set too!

katie October 27, 2016

I started buying Elliott stuff for Christmas too. It really is helpful and less stressful to just have to bring it all out and wrap it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.