Weigh ins and money differences in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Oct. 17, 2016, 10:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had weigh in number 5 today from my 2nd weight loss challenge and I weighed in at 174! That’s some kind of miracle (lost 2.8lbs since last week) since on Saturday my family had Thanksgiving dinner and I had 2nds plus chocolate cake and yesterday I had a chocolate bar and a mini reese cup blizzard. But I guess since I walk tons and don’t really go over my calorie allotment hardly ever and since I’m nursing it all works out. Hooray! My goal is 165 and then I will see how I feel at that point. I already feel like I look pretty good in my clothes these days but I obviously still have some chub I’d like to get rid of. In this round of the weight loss challenge I’ve gone from 186.4 to 174 so I’m doing well but there’s a bunch of ladies doing pretty well this round. Ah well, what can you do?

I’ve been making more money selling stuff lately which is cool. Every little bit helps right now. My parents are leaving for Florida in a week and yesterday my Dad said if they give me some money for my birthday do I promise to spend it on myself and not just on groceries? lol. I get what he means…they want me to spoil myself but it also annoys me that he said that because the way I see it is, it’s my birthday money. I should be able to spend it on anything I want. And if I choose to spend most of it on bills or whatever then that’s my choice. My driver’s license renewal sticker is obviously due on my birthday too and that’s $120 right there. Right now the things I need are winter boots, a new and bigger purse that I can use as a purse/diaper bag combo and some pants (I have like 2 or 3 pairs that fit right now). Mike usually lets me pick out whatever I want for my birthday, his grandma gives me $50 in a card every year, his mom will buy me something I ask for and my parents are giving me money. So between all of that I should be able to get those things I need. And yes, I probably will spend some of the money from my parents on bills because I don’t need a lot. They won’t know the difference though…

It can be hard hanging out with my parents sometimes because they are loaded and we are not. For an example, yesterday Mike took the boys to a hockey game so I went to the mall with Summer because it was the only time I can ever go without a toddler running around like crazy. I was debating whether to spend $10 on myself getting some David’s tea or whether I should save that money for stuff we need (cat food/gas/whatever). Meanwhile my mom was browsing a store where all the clothes items were $200 each or more LOL. And even though I’ve told them that money is tight my parents just don’t get it. I said I needed winter boots so my mom took me into Sears to look for some. I stopped looking for ones I liked after seeing the 3rd price tag that was $200-$300. And she was like “what?” I didn’t want to tell her that I usually get a $20-$30 pair at Walmart and I’m fine with that. Oh to live their life.....

Anyways, baby is crying and I barely had enough time to write this and have breakfast. No more break for this Mommy :(


lessoff October 17, 2016

DUDE you are rocking this weight loss. I had a few tough weeks but I should be joining you into the lower 170's in a week or two.

my in laws also have a bit of money. they always give me money for my b day and/or Christmas and say spend it on something fun. I usually put it into savings (haha) and tell them that I got a new comforter or new slippers with the money. but the good thing about that is when/if they ever need assistant living they will have the money to put out for it. meanwhile my mom is scraping every dime together to pay for her breakfast (she gets mcdonalds just about every day, at least the days she comes to watch Lydia) so she was so happy when I gave her a coupon flyer that had mcdonalds coupons in it. (I just grabbed it out of the junkmail at work).
im afraid of what will happen to my mom if she needs extra help (she is married to a guy who is 15 years younger than her, but he is in worse shape than she is).

It's_all_a_journey lessoff ⋅ October 17, 2016

Thanks! I'm sure you will be :)

Yeah, that's true. I won't have to worry about that. My MIL worked in a factory all her life and recently retired but she seems to have saved a nice nest egg too which is good. That's sad about your mom. I feel like we are going to be like that since it's so hard to save anything :(

NeonLady October 17, 2016

It's hard to spend lots of time with people who have a lot more money than you. My aunt & uncle are that way and when they visit they always want to go to super pricey restaurants and I'm like....eh can't we stay home and bake some chicken? Lol!

It's_all_a_journey NeonLady ⋅ October 17, 2016

lol. My parents treat us to dinner about once a week which is a nice bonus but also makes us feel poor. But yeah, that would be super awkward

*Mrs.P* October 17, 2016

I always feel like I mention money too much to friends and stuff. But I'm proud when I save money or find a great deal! We aren't loaded, but I'm thankful we aren't currently living paycheck to paycheck either.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.