Antelope Canyon Photo Bomb, Part One in Day by Day

  • Oct. 17, 2016, 2:54 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

There’s a lot going on right now. Lots of writing and pursuing grants. Had a belated birthday celebration with a friend (his is at the end of September, mine is in early October and between all four schedules, we manage to get around to celebrating in late October/early November, so we feel downright prompt! Since it’s my turn to do the birthday meal this year, I opted to cook and decided on a lobster feast: an appetizer of lobster cake (smaller, next time) & cheese and crackers, salad greens topped with artichoke hearts/hearts of palm/tomatoes/smoked oysters/and other goodies, lobster macaroni & cheese, lobster rolls, and cake and ice cream, all paired with a 2005 La Valetto Bordeaux. Yum! We’d already exchanged gifts, but they surprised me with a generous gift to the non-profit I started and some pictures of me and Nick, taken in 2005. I still need to scan those, but decided to share my eldest son’s pictures in one big photo bomb, so apologies ahead of time if loading takes for-evah.

Upper Antelope canyon is underground. The red rock ground suddenly splits into caverns carved by eons of flash flooding erosion.

alt text

alt text

alt text

The warning system is better these days, but people do get caught by sudden floods. The lucky ones just get stranded for hours and hours. The less fortunate die. The beauty found in the caverns, however, draw crowds willing to descend a long set of steps.

alt text

The bottom was red sand, eroded rock:

alt text

The guide threw the dirt in the air so you could see the wind swirl it around:

![alt text](http://)

alt text

And this was weird: a random rock jammed into a hollowed out niche:

alt text

Looking up and around:

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

alt text

It’s late. I’ll try to do family pics next.


Shattered October 17, 2016

Gorgeous! Another place on my to-do list.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ October 17, 2016

It was stunning!

Eriu October 17, 2016

Happy Birthday! My birthday is in the latter part of September; do I get lobster, too? :) The pictures of the rock formations look like paintings!

ConnieK Eriu ⋅ October 17, 2016

Eriu, you come visit and I'll make sure you get TWO lobsters! :) Antelope Canyon was surreal...but then, so much of that part of the country was like nothing I'd ever seen. I like that it is entirely owned and operated by the Navajo Nation.

middle age pearl October 18, 2016

Nature in all of its splendid beauty and mystery!! Great photos!!

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ October 18, 2016

It was an amazing place.

Ferret Mom October 18, 2016

As always, amazing. And it must have been so cool in person.

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ October 18, 2016

I think what surprised me so much (besides the sheer beauty) was how different it was from the Grand Canyon itself. Antelope Canyon is not far from the north rim of the Grand Canyon, so you'd think they'd be similar!

GypsyWynd October 19, 2016

Thanks for the call today. It was greatly appreciated.
The photos are stunning.....hard to believe it's rock, it looks so fluid.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ October 19, 2016

Fluid is a good word for it. I likened it to a cloth that was haphazardly tossed aside.

M October 21, 2016

I love these pix!

ConnieK M ⋅ October 21, 2016

Thanks! Going to do some family shots in the next one, but yes, Antelope Canyon is a photographer's dream. It's near Page, AZ.

QueenSuzu October 27, 2016

we live on some amazing planet don't we. Beautiful beaches, mountains, such diversity and all beautiful with some more incredulous than others. Thanks for sharing, might never get to see or go there in person but your pix and narrative put me there.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ October 27, 2016

The whole area was surreal!

QueenSuzu October 27, 2016

Had to go back and count the pix---no. 12 reminds me of ribbon candy.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ October 27, 2016

Ribbon candy works. I thought it looked like fabric. :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.