A familiar face at the helpline and an autumn drive. in The View from the Terrace

  • Oct. 15, 2016, 11:37 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went in to do a duty at the helpline last week. I knew I was on with a new volunteer who I hadn’t met. Imagine my surprise when it turned out to be my old GP. She was the best doctor we ever had, always listened to what you had to say and was never afraid to admit she didn’t know something. We were upset when she left to go to a part-time position which would give her time to work with drug offenders, something she had wanted to do for some time. I thought it might be a bit awkward but she was lovely and asking my advice as she was the newcomer there and I had the experience. I’m glad she will be back in my life in a different role.

Last Wednesday we went for a drive down to Tintern Abbey. It’s a favourite place of ours and very beautiful in the autumn.
alt text

Our usual coffee place had closed early so we went to the Abbey Mill cafe. It’s a lovely place. They do proper meals too so I might consider it for my birthday celebration next year. When we get all of the family together we have to find somewhere that does vegan food for Cat, vegetarian for me and good traditional steaks for the boys and this place fitted the bill.

On our drive home it began to rain and later there was a beautiful double rainbow.
alt text


Deleted user October 15, 2016

What beautiful pictures. How wonderful that your former GP had come back into your life! She sounds like a wonderful person to know.

Deleted user October 16, 2016

Tintern Abbey and a gorgeous rainbow ! Wow !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.