Where in the World is MJ?! in QUOTIDIEN

  • Jan. 13, 2014, 1:43 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have been busier than a mosquito at a nudist colony! Most importantly, 2014 is my year.

I am: A) Learning Spanish through DuoLingo. I have reached a point where to add more words means losing the ones I picked up in the beginning. I persist, however, in the word strengthening skills Before long, I'll be getting a job at the local McDonald's in the hopes of smoothing out the conversational issues.

As a French-Canadian, I have been at the receiving end of the self-taught French person and REFUSE to subject any Latino to the same oral gymnastics. Even my 'emparedado de pescado' was grinned at, last I tried. Turns out - 'sandwich de pescado' would have been enough. Bless them for not wincing. At least I have the familiarity of a Latin-based language in my toolbox.

B) I thought I had changed my eating habits to a more 'whole food' category, which remains true except for the fact that I am avoiding wheat and corn. I have lost 8 lbs in 12 days. The goal, though the weight loss is definitely appreciated - is to reduce the number of migraines and pain in my fingers and shoulders. Man, this finger thing is like Plantar Fasciitis of the hand! Every single finger hurts at the start of the day. Getting old stinks!

C) One adult child moves out, and another moves in. It is a temporary set-up.....but we don't really know for how long. Praying this child gets a job and earns an HONEST wage.

D) No movement on the house-sale front. Seriously - the house is barely salvageable. It's the three acres that are worth the money. The house would be a great place to live while building on the back acre.

E) Currently at work - so I have to make this the end.

Keep this space open for future developments.


Deleted user January 13, 2014

"I have been busier than a mosquito at a nudist colony!" Cracked up!

hot-lips January 14, 2014

Cracking up at the mosquito line also! lol So you're living somewhere in a Spanish speaking place? It's so much slower learning another language as an adult rather than a child. I've had that problem of forgetting old words when new ones came into my vocab. Keep talking, that really helps confirm words in your brain and hopefully keep them from disappearing.

pb reader January 14, 2014

Growing up in Canada, not speaking French and not understanding it at all is frustrating. I took a couple of semesters in school, but hearing French on the radio being spoken so fast put me at a loss. My granddaughter has been learning Parisian French and loves it. She sounds good, I think. But, what do I know? Good for you, trying to learn Spanish.

Noodlebugs! January 31, 2014

Love Duolingo!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.