Running with determination. in The season for arachnids. Autumn 2016

  • Oct. 9, 2016, 12:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunday runday - It’s long (funny, that typoed as lung) run day and I’m training to run a half marathon in March. Because I have so much time to train for it I’m having fun with the training, really building up the body strength.

Today was extra long run day (I’ll drop down the distance next week and build back up to this distance over a few weeks). And this is the update I wrote on the running site i use....

I ran 20km in 2 hours 15 minutes and 13 seconds.

An awful lot can happen in that time! Two toilet stops (6km at Costa, 14km at Texaco), a lady who stopped me at 11km to discuss running - I’ve sent her C25K-wards. At 15k i really started to struggle so had some of my honey and sesame seed bar, it really helped and i was able to keep going. Took a detour through the new estate and remembered that loads of the kids at school live there so i couldn’t walk at all! I then ran down the path by the duel carriageway, crossed over and back into our estate, with less than a km to go i picked up the pace, turned the corner so that i could see the ‘finish line’, picked up the pace a little more and tripped on a man hole cover… I flew through the air and landed on my elbow. I checked myself over, all looked fine so of I set again, finished at the time l was hoping for. I felt pain shooting through my elbow and looked to see it had doubled in size… I’ve done my whole stretching routine with an ice pack firmly attached! As for the cold, this run will either have killed it or encouraged it 😉


northern lights October 09, 2016

Well done! Hope your elbow is ok!

thesunnyabyss October 09, 2016

awesomeness!!!

The Tranquil Loon October 09, 2016

ugh, sorry you have a painful elbow, glad you didn't hurt and ankle/knee foot! My niece is running the Chicago Marathon today--im excited for her !

Deleted user October 09, 2016

Well done, wow!

Deleted user October 10, 2016

You impress me so with your running !

colojojo October 24, 2016

Damn woman!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.