Education. in Summer, summer, summer time!

  • Oct. 1, 2016, 7:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Recently I’ve been thinking more and more about formal education, it’s playing on my mind a ridiculous amount.

I keep thinking about how education has been inherently wrong since formal education began. How it was designed by adults who gave no thought to how children thrive, how they experience the world. I have made mind maps to formulate my thoughts but found an article today which was amazing, it was as though someone had entered my thoughts, rearranged them and put them in an articulate manner.

This is the quote, at the start, which grabbed my attention. It explains why formal education wasn’t created to help children learn as children.

“At the turn of the twentieth century educational theorists were quite open about the fact that they were designing schools for the purpose of adapting children to the new industrial order. Children must shed their “savage” wildness, these pedagogues maintained, and develop “civilized” habits like punctuality, obedience, orderliness, and efficiency. As Ellwood P. Cubberley, Dean of the Stanford University School of Education, put it in 1898:

Our schools are, in a sense, factories, in which the raw materials – children – are to be shaped and fashioned into products… The specifications for manufacturing come from the demands of 20th century civilization, and it is the business of the school to build its pupils according to the specifications laid down.”

It’s a very long article but, if you’re of this mindset, it’s a very interesting read.

http://carolblack.org/on-the-wildness-of-children/


Deleted user October 01, 2016

I will come back and read.

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ October 01, 2016

I look forward to your comments because i know we have somewhat differing opinions when it comes to education.

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ October 02, 2016

For the most part I agree, especially where our future is heading. We are entering an era where there are going to be less and less jobs for people and if the government gets it right the majority of people simply will not need to work. So academic pursuits just won't be as necessary. Maybe the kids that don't like school can simply leave and those that do stay on and take on the few jobs that exist in the future.

I read the rat thing before, raised some really interesting points about the way we live our lives. I think a growing number of people can't keep up with the rat race (pun intended) and we need to think about how society handles this.

There is of course the strong chance governments won't get it right and the split between rich and poor will just end up being much greater and the only way out of being poor will be education and even fiercer competition for the limited amount of jobs that will exist.

I like it all in theory, especially if there was a scenario where parents did not have to work as well to spend more time with the kids.

thesunnyabyss October 03, 2016

I am going to read this as soon as I can, it sounds interesting from your commentary and your notes, I just need five minutes of peace to do it, lol,

hugs!

The Tranquil Loon October 04, 2016

ah, my thoughts exactly.
...............................................lie, lie, lie sss sss ssnickerss

Deleted user October 08, 2016

I have always thought that our schools and curriculums do not challenge children to become the best and smartest adults they can be. Interests , skills, and whole futures are squashed by mostly uncaring faculty . I remember going to the guidance teacher in HS and telling them I wanted to go to school to be a vet and being asked how I planned to pay for college ( myself) and then when they looked at my grades which were way above average ( honor society level) being told I should not bother to apply as it was unlikely I would be accepted or be able to afford it if I got accepted . They offered me nursing or journalism instead :-( and had no interest what I did . While that should have been where my parents stepped in to help me , I was already living on my own so I let the counselor influence ( discourage) me too much .

colojojo October 25, 2016

I'm not surprised at this at all.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.