Brutal Mom tasks :( in Life as a Mom of 2 boys.....and a girl!!

  • Sept. 30, 2016, 9:35 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did finally end up getting some coffee on Monday when I was super tired. My mom invited us over and my dad has like 20 bags of keurig coffee so I was set. My body was weird that day though and I was still feeling pooped after coffee. I had a bit of a nap in the afternoon and so by 3pm I was finally feeling normal. It was great visiting my parents in the morning with the kids. They have a lot of toys like tracks with electronic cars that we don’t have that Miles loves to play with and it’s just nice to have some adult interaction during the day.

I haven’t done a whole lot this week. I sold a few more things and bought some cheap diapers off a lady whose kid outgrew a size too quickly. I did mom and baby aquafit with Summer on Wednesday like usual and she was so pooped she just sat there watching us all with her chin resting on the little baby boat instead of playing with any toys. It was adorable lol.

Yesterday I had to take Cody to the dentist to get the first 2 of his 4 cavities filled. I was absolutely dreading it and for good reason. For one, I never leave Summer and she screams/cries with anyone but me but for this I felt like Cody needed/deserved my full attention so I left her with my mom and yes, she screamed and cried which makes me feel horrible, especially knowing we have to go again in 2 weeks. And also, even though I had told Cody that he was going to have to be brave and this appointment wasn’t going to be the most fun, he was in a super happy mood playing with the toys in the waiting room at the dentist and I was just like omg he has no idea what’s coming. And yes, he screamed, cried and kicked a LOT. He hasn’t had a cavity filled since he was 3 (so 2 years ago) and he doesn’t remember that so this was a new kind of horror for him. I felt sick watching it all because it was like watching someone torture your child and not being able to do anything about it. The dentist assured me his mouth was frozen and he was not in pain but still. They put so many freezing needles in his mouth, I couldn’t believe it! And Cody was like OWWWWWWW. It was just an awful experience. And I can’t believe we have to go again in 2 weeks. Mike said no way would he go with him. So yeah....fun times being a Mom I’ll tell you! We have 80% dental coverage through Mike’s work so the bill came to $150 and next time it will be $150 again....not terrible I guess.

Cody is fine though and he understands the importance of brushing your teeth a lot now. I always make him brush his teeth but now I’m going to make sure I floss him more and maybe brush for a bit longer. I think he just has weak teeth like Mike unfortunately.

In happier news, today is my first day of strollerfit! I was hoping to do it with just Summer and me but my mom just watched Miles the last 2 days for aquafit and the dentist appointment so I’m not going to ask her to watch him. So it could be interesting lol. I did strollerfit when Cody was a baby and really enjoyed it. You walk around a track a bunch and then the instructor stops you to do certain strength training exercises like burpees, step ups, leg lifts or whatever. Then at the end you do floor exercises while the baby lies beside you. That’s what they did in the past anyways. This is a different company and location so we’ll see. I just hope Miles doesn’t get bored/whiny or run wild. We shall see....


*Mrs.P* September 30, 2016

Strollerfit sounds fun! Sorry you had to watch that appointment :( being a mom is hard!

It's_all_a_journey *Mrs.P* ⋅ September 30, 2016

It really is sometimes! I also hate disciplining them. I do it but I just hate it :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.