I just wanna cry in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Sept. 30, 2016, 7:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It won. Depression has arrived and is settling in nicely. The final push over “the edge” was a phone call from dad telling me my cousin who is in no better shape than dad is coming to visit him this afternoon and is staying for a few days while his wife and their daughter go to Vegas. His conversation about “we” did it. He needs a cook and driver even more so with cousin visiting. I can’t do this anymore. I just can’t. I am going to see my doc this morning and see if she can give me something to head this off. I don’t have the time nor the choice to just quit. I really really want to, but too many depend on me and it is time I get some STUPID drug to make me feel artificially better. It sucks!!


dt dew September 30, 2016

I feel your pain...have you talked to a social worker to see if your dad can get a home health aide to help you. If my mom ever comes home from the nursing home again I am going to call the social worker at the hospital to see what I can find out. I hope something helps your depression because that sucks.

aunty EM September 30, 2016

You, my dear, desperately need a vacation.... I agree with the previous noter. You should contact social services and see about getting some help. There are lots of resources out there. You also have to think about your own health. Physical and mental. Hugs.

ConnieK September 30, 2016

Coping with the stress can be overwhelming. I'll keep you in my prayers. Sometimes I think caring for the elderly is harder on the caregiver than it is on the older person! HUGS If you can't do an errand because you are too busy, call the sibs and dump it in their laps. Make it a statement, not a question. I wish we lived closer to each other.

FormerlyMe September 30, 2016

GypsyWynd September 30, 2016

I agree with your other noters. You must take care of yourself, first and foremost.
I will keep you in my prayers.
Any chance you could drop your dad off at the cousin's house after their vacation is over, and let them return the favor??

crystal butterfly September 30, 2016

Oswego October 01, 2016

Believe me, I can understand the stress you are going through. Mom had a dementia episode last night that was as bizarre as anything she's experience yet. It shocks me so much. I don't even recognize her.

cardslinger October 01, 2016

Oh you poor dear. I know exactly how you are feeling. Been there. Hugs. Just remember the meme going around facebook saying "depression doesn't mean you are weak but rather that you were being strong for too long." Glad you are getting the help you need. I will be praying.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.