Slowly moving forwards in It's a Suhaila!

  • Sept. 29, 2016, 2:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I promise everyone here, I am still alive.

It’s been a difficult time for me at the moment - if all had gone as it should, I would have been off to university this week but with Jasmine that’s been put on hold. I’m trying to decide between going off to a uni next year, going somewhere close to home, or maybe even going through the Open University to gain a degree.

My sister went back last weekend, she’s into her final year of her BSc. It seems quiet without her here. And empty. Many is the time she’s been my voice of reason, my shoulder to lean on. When I’ve had a bad night or was struggling, she’d take Jasmine for a few hours and tell me to bugger off and have a nap.

Jasmine really likes flute music. When I play with her in front of me I notice her looking up at me while I play. I think it’s keeping her relaxed, but I don’t know, is it “Ooh I like this mummy” or is it “Mummy you have a strange growth under your nose” or “Mummy whatever you do please don’t play anything by One Direction.”

I haven’t heard from Daniel for a few weeks now and after what’s happened I don’t particularly care. Jamine’s father has been around a few times to see her, I leave them alone for a while when he does - after all the relationship there is father-daughter which is more important than me and him as I know there will never be an us.

Speaking of Jasmine, she’s just settled down for her nap, I was going to put some light music on in the background to try and soothe her - I have quite a bit of instrumental stuff that I like to listen to for relaxing. Can’t believe she’s 4 months old already though.

I miss my sister. I think Jasmine misses her too. Luckily I can talk to her over Skype, and last night made me smile when Jamine could hear Salena’s voice and was looking around for her and was “I can hear Auntie Salena but where is she?” kind of look on her face. I think if I move out from home in the near future I’d want to move in with Salena.

I’m getting there. Slowly but surely.


Wrennie September 29, 2016

:)

Deleted user September 30, 2016

If you went off to a school next year, would you leave Jasmine at home with your parents?

Suhaila Deleted user ⋅ September 30, 2016

Not in a million years. Being away from her for 10-12 weeks at a time? It would only confuse her, she wouldn't understand who her mum is and so on. If I go somewhere, she's coming with me.

history of love October 11, 2016

I study with the Open Uni and I love it! You could also look at part time degrees at a "normal" uni or creche facilities. Some uni's have a nursery for students and staff.

Suhaila history of love ⋅ October 11, 2016

There's still a lot I need to think about with all this, but putting my life on hold for a year or two while Jasmine grows might be good in the long run. I am thinking about Open University and if I do just hope that Jasmine doesn't crawl all over me when I am trying to work!

Deleted user October 11, 2016

I am sure you will figure out the right option for you and Jasmine ! Just don't give up on your education as it will affect both of your futures so much !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.