Grand Canyon Family Trip 2016, Part Six in Travels with ConnieK

  • Sept. 15, 2016, 2:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Just a short entry today, because I have VIC (Very Important Company) in town: my BFF from junior high school days! She has developed a neurological disease and it is taking its toll on her. She is painfully thin and unsure of herself. She’s too much inside her head so my job is to ignore that and distract her. It’s helping. She’s loosening up. And ill or not, when we’re together, we’re usually laughing and THAT is good for both our souls.

I continue the family trip until you run screaming from the room (cue diabolical laugh)…

Later in the day, we drove through Glen Canyon and then the Utah Pine Valley mountain area in the Red Cliffs National Conservation Area and the Red Cliffs Desert Reserve, where the Colorado Plateau, the Great Basin Desert, and the Mojave Desert overlap.

alt text

alt text

You will notice I managed to find the ONE picture out of three that had my finger in it!

I didn’t take many pictures because I was pressing on the imaginary brake, “helping” my son drive. The mountains rose in sharp, sheer walls high above our heads as we wound our way up and down, ears popping all the way. Our plastic water battles collapsed inward with the altitude changes. I felt so small. This is a big land and it keeps expanding…mountains in the far distance appear closer than they are.

Odd thing we noticed: cell phone towers are disguised as trees and cacti! Back soon to tell you about Vegas, Baby.


QueenSuzu September 15, 2016

I think being with you is just what the dr. ordered for your bff! As for Vegas, I thought "what happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas"😏😏

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ September 15, 2016

Heck, no, girl! I'm gonna tell you EVERYTHING I saw in Vegas! LOL!

Shattered QueenSuzu ⋅ September 15, 2016

Shush Suzu!!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 15, 2016

LOL! Exactly what do you think I did there, Miss Storm? :)

Shattered ConnieK ⋅ September 16, 2016

Had a grand old time, of course!

GypsyWynd September 15, 2016

Are you sure you can tell us what happened in Vegas? Isn't it supposed to stay in Vegas?
I'm enjoying your family trip.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ September 15, 2016

I'm spilling it all! LOL!

Shattered GypsyWynd ⋅ September 15, 2016

You shoosh too Gypsi! LOL

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 15, 2016

You are too funny! :)

Shattered September 15, 2016

I love the pics, fingers and all! I'd love to live further west some day, as long as it's warm!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 15, 2016

It was warm, but I need an ocean nearby. Too many rocks and no place to grow veggies.

middle age pearl September 19, 2016

What a wonderful disguise for the towers.

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ September 19, 2016

Except it didn't look real!

Ferret Mom September 19, 2016

I do the imaginary brake thing too.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.