More rain and more bathroom chaos! in The View from the Terrace

  • Sept. 13, 2016, 9:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday the weather forcast promised us a really hot day today, I was looking forward to getting out into the garden and planting my spring bulbs, but it’s pouring with rain. I am beginning to wonder if we live in a microclimate as so often recently our weather has been different from everywhere else. We have long cloud filled days and then turn on the local news at teatime to see people basking in the summer sun. They did mention showers on this morning’s forcast, but I wouldn’t call this a shower, it was thundering a little while back. I do hope we get some sunshine over the next 2 weeks as we are going to Dorset for a few days next Monday and Tony is off to Devon the following week. It really annoys me that they are talking about autumn on TV. I always understood that autumn begins on the equinox on September 22, surely it is still late summer, though you wouldn’t know it from looking out of my windows right now.

We still have bathroom chaos. Chris can only come weekends so progress is slow but we do have the boards up around the bath now, so hopefully next Saturday a start will be made on the tiling. We are leaving on Sunday to break our journey to Dorset halfway at Glastonbury. Hubby finds driving very tiring now and if I am having a migraine day I can’t drive after the meds so we are limited by how far we can go in one day. When I noticed that Glastonbury was about halfway though I was delighted as it’s a place I love and we can spend an hour or two there before setting off and still arrive around 4pm. At least we will have a shower in the caravan! Then hopefully ours will be up and running the weekend after we get home.


Deleted user September 13, 2016

Enjoy your trip ! We are just on the verge of Fall and that always makes me sad. The weather is beautiful but I know what is coming :-(

Sabrina-Belle Deleted user ⋅ September 13, 2016

I always feel sad too at the end of summer but when the leaves start to change the beauty lifts me again.

Deleted user Sabrina-Belle ⋅ September 16, 2016

I am a person who thrives in the light and the sunlight . Gray days, damp, rain , and cold wipe me out for the count. I was meant to live in the tropics !

Deleted user September 13, 2016

Things are opposite here. As the summer comes to an end, the temperatures begin to cool down. Our winters are like spring in other areas of the world. But as the summer approaches, I get very sad. It's so brutally hot living in the desert. We usually have to wait until November before the summer heat is gone. I hope your trip goes well.

Lady of the Bann September 14, 2016

You have reminded me I need to cut a load of bushes back and plant some more bulbs. I had lifted some from pots and they are starting to sprout.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.