I'm never going to catch up in Life

  • Sept. 13, 2016, 2:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been a hectic start of school. I’m doing ok with the grade change, but there’s just so much. In a lot of ways I feel like a new teacher. For example, right now I’m having to reteach myself atoms, and shells, and periodic tables. Things with the coworkers are settling out, except for the smoker. I’m so over her. I confronted her about smoking in my room and was told that it was water vapor and there was no way I could have an allergic reaction. I explained that I had a reaction this summer. She said her daughter has allergies too, and she “licks” the air because it tastes like Jolly Ranchers. I told her that it affected me differently, asked her not to do it in my room again, and left the room. It’s hard to tell if she’s done it in my room or my coworkers, because the hallway reeks of it. We had visitors in the building last week and today. I’m talking to my principal about it tomorrow. I’m double dosing on allergy meds right now to prevent reactions and my sinuses still shut down. If I’m reacting like that, we’re going to get a kid with asthma (which we have 1 this year) who is really going to react.
My student who attempted suicide is back. We never got anything from the hospital, never got anything requesting work, never got any details. He’s just back. He’s very different, too. He was never a great student, but he’s going out of his way to antagonize the other kids. I had to call home on him the other day. I had a sub (I was at a meeting in the school) and she was new. She was insane and she quit subbing after subbing for me. I don’t think the kids will ever do what they did with her in the room. They saw a whole new side of me. This kid chose another boy I teach, a little boy, odd, bad home life, and emotional issues, and he bullied him. I spoke to dad who seemed to believe me. He said they had seen it at home. The boy intentionally broke a large dill pickle jug, and left the glass on the ground where one of them would walk on it (dad was the one who did). I’m not sure what the future will bring for him.
I do hope to get caught up with y’all very soon. I’ve missed y’all. I just don’t seem to have time to stop and write lately. I spend my evenings relearning skills and history, finding activities, or grading. I hope y’all are doing ok!!!!


terriberri September 13, 2016

We will wait for you.

My heart goes out to that boy.

Jigger September 13, 2016

I'm running my ass off for a new job, too. Right now is the first time I've stopped since six this morning. Maybe we'll catch up over Christmas break!

Deleted user September 13, 2016

So sorry for that boy , the boy he bullied and the sub. Do talk to the principal about The Smoker ! You do not want to get ill and what is she thinking smoking in a school
??? Hope things start to ease up for you. I will be thinking of you and keep you in my prayers!

Small Town Girl September 14, 2016

Smoker sounds like 5th grades Bitchy J. Ugh.
How sad about the troubled little boy. :(

Deleted user September 16, 2016

Just to let you know sign-ups are open if you want to participate! I'm going through last year's participant list to let everyone know in case the sign-up entry gets missed.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.