Life on the coast in Talk Story

  • Sept. 6, 2016, 9:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Aloha…

Mahalo nui loa for your notes to me on my last entry…

There is a saying that “time heals”… and so it will for my neighbor who still misses her little friend…

This evening I wanted to write about life here on the southern coast of Oregon…

Labor day is in the past… and the tourists and visitors to our little town… are for the most part gone…

Motor-homes… travel-trailers… cars and trucks pulling trailers… tent campers… all headed out of town today…

Parking places available again… no long lines at Fred Meyer… restaurants with immediate seating… and the traffic is once again a thing of the past…

Okay… okay… I realize that these visitors are deserving of what we experience each day living here… and seeing them enjoy this place… having so many talk with me about just how much they love it here… makes me all the more appreciative of my being able to live here all year…

Still… I’m sort of glad they’re now gone…

Smiles.................


ConnieK September 06, 2016

You sound like a Floridian! LOL! That's exactly what we say each year, only our holiday is Easter. :)

Maui Jim ConnieK ⋅ September 06, 2016

Yes... for the most part... we are a "summer" town...
Smiles........

Deleted user September 06, 2016

I think that life returning to a slower rhythm is nice after tourists leave, even if I enjoy having them here. I live in a town known for it's historical homes and civil war history. We get a lot of tourists here during the summer and long weekends.

Maui Jim Deleted user ⋅ September 06, 2016

Yes... I agree with you...

middle age pearl September 07, 2016

This area isn't known for tourists, as such, but visitors. LOTS of family members come to see their loved one graduate training from one of the military branches that train new soldiers. Wednesday's they start arriving. Thursday is family day and Friday is graduation Day. You avoid going shopping in the afternoons and evenings on those days if at all possible. The up side to all the visitors is that an eating establishment that does "buffet" is always fresh on those days. lol

Maui Jim middle age pearl ⋅ September 07, 2016

Great note... thanks for sharing... (smiles)

aunty EM September 08, 2016

~Big Smile~ indeed

crystal butterfly September 08, 2016

I don't live where tourists come to visit. They drive thru my part of the US and say it is boring. But to me that means they have no appreciation of the creative world God has made. I think it is more beautiful here than other places I have visited. But the people there like what they see.

Maui Jim crystal butterfly ⋅ September 08, 2016

Well I believe there is beauty everywhere... one only needs to look for it... ie: I spent quite a bit of time in Death Valley... saw an amazing number of insects... birds... and animals... beautiful rock formations... met some very nice people... and at night... the sky was amazing...
Aloha oe...

TruNorth September 11, 2016

Things have gone quiet at the Lake too. Many seasonal residents have left - the rest will be gone by CDN Thanksgiving (Oct 12ish). I'm particularly pleased those little seadoo's aren't out now - so noisy and disruptive. Just came in from a relaxing pontoon boat cruise around the lake.

Maui Jim TruNorth ⋅ September 11, 2016

Yes... quiet has returned here as well...

dream seeker September 15, 2016

I don't know that time actually heals all, I think it just makes it easier for us to face the loss.
Enjoy the more peaceful time in your beautiful town!

Maui Jim dream seeker ⋅ September 16, 2016

Perhaps it is that with the passage of time... the pain diminishes...

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.