Grand Canyon Family Trip 2016, Part Two in Travels with ConnieK

  • Sept. 4, 2016, 10:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Our fair city fared the storm well. Now my thoughts turn to those still in Hermine’s path. Instead of the deluge of rain that we experienced, they face high wind.
I have a second or two to continue my thoughts on the Grand Canyon trip. I’m so glad we splurged and took the kids! They took over the driving, which gave us the chance to just relax and enjoy the scenery. We took over the expense, which gave them a chance to enjoy without worrying about their budget!

We stayed in Williams, AZ. There’s a lot of touristy things, with heavy emphasis on the trains and an original section of Route 66. Breakfast at Old Smokey’s was fabulous, by the way, but avoid Jessica’s…lousy food, lousy service, and pricey. Goldie’s diner was a stand-out and the guys ate at a steakhouse one night and liked it. Oh, and there’s a restaurant selling great pieces of pie that we all enjoyed. Williams is very proud of their town clock, for some reason. They spent $36K on it. I was left scratching my head.

alt text

We explored the south rim on Day Three, from Tail Overlook to Mojave Point to The Abyss:

alt text

alt text

alt text

We saw elk and rabbits and squirrels, but no rattlers or bears in the park. Later on in the day, we explored a fun rock and fossil shop on the way back to our hotel.

More pictures tomorrow!


QueenSuzu September 04, 2016

My hands got clammy looking at the tail point picture---what a drop! I would have liked to have seen bear but from a very safe distance and an even safer distance to see rattlers.

ConnieK QueenSuzu ⋅ September 04, 2016

It was dizzying at times. One day when it was chilly, I stayed in the car and watched the boys walk around a cliff. At one pint youngest goes out on a point and eldest was taking his picture. What THEY couldn't see, but I could, was that youngest was standing on a rock with a HUGE vertical crack in it. When he got back to the car & saw, he was shocked.

QueenSuzu ConnieK ⋅ September 04, 2016

That just gave me shivers.

GypsyWynd September 04, 2016

Did you get a picture of the town clock? It must be something special if they spent that much money on it.
I don't think I'd enjoy the Grand Canyon.....just looking at the pictures makes me feel a little queasy. It's beautiful, but I'll enjoy it in pictures.
Mom and Dad loved their Grand Canyon trip. I don't remember where they stayed. I'll ask Mom later, when she's off the phone.

ConnieK GypsyWynd ⋅ September 04, 2016

Nope. I meant to because it was so mediocre. It was an old fashioned four sided clock on a pedestal.
Your Mom stayed at Maswik. I remember because I asked. :) Tell her it was crowded and noisy. I bet it was a lot nicer back in the day.

GypsyWynd ConnieK ⋅ September 04, 2016

You remember better than I do!
Knowing Mom and Dad, they probably went in Oct or March....they liked the off season.

Shattered September 04, 2016

Great pics, as always!

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 04, 2016

Thanks. I delete the terrible ones. LOL!

Shattered ConnieK ⋅ September 04, 2016

The only terrible one is one not taken.

ConnieK Shattered ⋅ September 04, 2016

You didn't see the ones where my finger was in the picture or the blurred ones or the "what the heck IS that" pictures. LOL!

middle age pearl September 05, 2016

Great pictures and what a beautiful part of our US this is and probably always will be. My parents took us there many years ago and it was breathtaking to say the least. The rides up and down the mountain highways were stressful to say the least for me and don't think I really appreciated the grandness of the landscape because of fear of falling, sliding, etc. lol Love to see pictures but not interested or have the nerve to go back.

ConnieK middle age pearl ⋅ September 05, 2016

Then you can revisit through my posts. :)

M September 05, 2016

Bucket list.

ConnieK M ⋅ September 05, 2016

Go. Don't wait.

Ferret Mom September 06, 2016

I would be happy not to see any rattlers. :)

ConnieK Ferret Mom ⋅ September 06, 2016

Or any other snake! LOL!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.