Hand still hurts a little in Everything

  • Sept. 2, 2016, 3:12 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I know I hardly ever write here anymore but I really want to start posting regularly again. Gotta talk about yesterday. I had to take my mom to a doctor’s appointment in the big city (Boston). Now if you never had the pleasure of driving in Boston you might not be able to relate but it’s not very fun. Very stressful especially if you have to make it somewhere by a specific time. We made it in and back and I figured I’d hang around my mom’s place to help her with some household stuff and then take the trash out. So it’s about 9 at night and I’m bringing the trash out and a guy walks out from behind the garage in the back yard. Now my mom lives in a duplex apartment. There is a small backyard that has a two car garage and behind that is a row of bushes and small trees that back up to a parking lot. There is a Chinese restaurant and a few other businesses, most of which are closed now, except the restaurant. The guy looks to be about 30ish (it was pretty dark) he’s visually drunk, slurring a little and a little unsteady on his feet. Oh and he’s holding a highball glass, with ice cubes and some alcohol still in it. I have never seen this guy before, I have no idea who he is or why he is wandering around here. So I tell him “Get the fuck outta my back yard”. He slurs some response but shows no indication that he plans on leaving. I repeat myself a few times, each time I’m getting a little louder. He then says something along the lines of I’m minding my own business, not causing any trouble. He then said do you want to see my license? Presumably in his altered state this would help prove his case of not causing any trouble. I repeat my, get the fuck out of my yard statement and he reaches into his back pocket to get his wallet and I take a huge swing and nail him right in the side of his face. He goes down, highball glass goes flying. Kinda hurt my hand. He’s on the ground and has managed to get to his hands and knees and is saying something like why did you do that, my response was a swift kick to his ribs. He went down again. I put the trash on the curb and went inside and called the police and explained that I had an altercation with an intoxicated man in my back yard. They came, he had managed to crawl away somewhere. They took my statement and from my description they were pretty sure who it was. They have been called to the area before because of him wandering around intoxicated. I told them I felt threatened by him and that’s why I hit him. Don’t believe anything further will come of this.
I’m not usually a violent person but my mom is 84 and lives alone, the person on the other side of the duplex is a nice lady in her 70s. I wanted to make a clear impression on this guy not to come back. Hopefully I did. And I was a bit annoyed from the day anyway.


Azrael September 02, 2016

I am pretty sure I have gotten lost every single time I have driven to Boston, unless I am going to East Boston, cause that's where the fam is from.
That would scare me too, I was thinking thank goodness it was you and not your mom.

Pies on a Carousel September 02, 2016

Go you. I don't think I could ever do that, regardless of how many times I've wanted to.

The last time I drove in Boston was two years ago, after having lived in California for several years. I couldn't believe how angry I got. Hard to imagine I put up with that every single day for years.

Deleted user September 06, 2016

Note to self... don't wander around your moms back yard while drunk! ;)

Gurly239 September 07, 2016

I think you did the right thing. Those ladies don't need some drunk guy hanging around... you never know what kind of guy he is or what he might do. Rather safe than sorry.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.