CATCHING UP~ in MY HOME AWAY FROM HOME ~

  • Aug. 30, 2016, 3:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, let me see. I was writing more in EW, but it looks like many of my friends are here now, so I’ll give it a try. I still miss ITW :)

Its been a strange but good year so can’t complain. I have regrets and worries, but then don’t we all.

My list includes:
1. Moving to Florida.. around this same time in 2015 I drove from Texas all the way to Clearwater,Fl to visit with my youngest Son & grandkids. My plan was to try to find something that I might could afford to rent. HA.. its so much higher there (everything) so that didn’t work out. But I had an amazing time with them and didn;t want to leave. I got to spend Thanksgiving & my birthday with them and was so happy.
2. Back to Texas… about a week before Christmas I realized that it was just too crowded for me to stay there & my daughter needed someone to watch her 2 kids while they went on a special holiday. Wish I could say the visit was as great as it was in Fl, but that’s not true. I’ll comment on that later on. I ended up moving from there around the middle of January & sadly it was not on a good note.
3. Living with Friends then low housing. When your 70 years old, with no where to live and just had a big battle with your family, life seems pretty dull. I found myself back in the same town that I tried so hard to get out of. Two very sweet ladies from church invited me to come live with them at their house. It was very nice & I sure appreciate them offering their home to me. However, after about 3 months I was really feeling the need to get my “own place” All I had with me was some clothes, tablet and a few books. I missed my “stuff” and my quiet time. I looked for a place that I could afford & all that was available was in the low housing area of town that is really run down & I just never felt safe there. That lasted about 2 months.
4. Moving back to same apt. So one day the manager of the apartments where I use to live called me and offered me a deal that was hard to pass up. Free month rent and no deposit. I still have some really good friends living here so it was a happy move. Only thing is that I had to get a 2 bedroom, which I really don’t need and can’t afford, but for now its good.
5. Part-time Jobs.. When I was living with the ladies, I worked for a little while babysitting, but then found a good pt job that I really like. I work at a home for mentally impaired ladies and they are such a delight. I go there on Wed/Thurs nights around 10 pm, so they are already in bed by then. I have my own room so eventually I got to sleep, but not till around 1 or 2 just to make sure they are ok and don’t need anything. I am a light sleeper, so don’t get a good nights rest. Then the alarm goes off at 7 am. I wake them up then go lay down while they get ready etc. They make their own breakfast, and fix their lunches for school. Then i sign a book to make sure they took all their needed medication. Around 9 am I take them to school, until another lady picks them up at 2 30.
Another fun thing I have been doing is Mystery Shopping. Since I have to drive about an hour in any direction to get to larger towns ( I live in a small country hick town lol ), I don’t do it too often. But I got to test drive a brand new Kia last month & got paid $75 for doing that. So its not anything that pays my bills, but gives me a little extra spending money and gets me out of the house lol

So anyways, thats that. I still need to talk about my little dog and my new Grand-babies in the new few days, but that to figure out how to put pictures on here first. Any hints or suggestions would be appreciated.

Well… hope you have a Turtleriffic Tuesday ~


crystal butterfly August 30, 2016

It is good to see you here. I was cross posting to EWS, but I would go back and nobody I read every updated or noted me so I quite. I've always wanted to be a secret shopper but not really sure I'd be good at it.

elaine2 August 31, 2016

Lovely to see you here :)

Deleted user September 01, 2016

Hi! So nice to see you here at Prosebox. It sounds like your life has had it's ups and downs but you are still plugging along making the best of it. Good for you!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.