Struggling to Understand in Life

  • Aug. 27, 2016, 1:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

We received a call from a parent this morning about one of our new students. Her oldest son, who is in one of my classes, attempted to kill himself last night. It just blows me away. He had a rough start to his day. (He signed his graded papers and was caught. He didn’t even do a good job of it.) He came to my room and was still angry and pouting. I pulled him aside and talked him about making the rest of his day better. That he couldn’t change what happened, but he could make the rest better. He teared up and I told him that if he cried, he would make me cry, too, so he couldn’t. That made him laugh and he hugged me. He seemed to cheer up and do better. He worked hard in my class, did well with his group, and smiled most of the time. I’m struggling with my new coworkers, too. I know they’re used to older kids, and they haven’t known these very long, but they just don’t seem as emotionally vested in this as I am. I was crying and they were saying it was sad, but there was nothing that we do, sort of an “oh well” attitude. I just can’t separate myself that way. I know I should be able to, but it’s not in me.
The child is in treatment, now. I’m not sure how long he be hospitalized. It could be just a week for an evaluation, or if they think it’s more involved, he might be there longer. My heart is breaking for him.
edit:
I don’t mean to make it sound like my coworkers don’t care. They do. They just are both able to say, “Wow, that’s terrible.” and then move on with their day. It was a hectic day, we were trying to finish a 3 day lab, but every time I stopped for a minute, my mind went to this young man and my heart hurt for him. I’m an emotional person. I know that. I love my kids, and I want the best for them. This young man’s mom seemed to be a very good lady and loving mom. I hope that’s the case. He’s new to our school, so I’ve only met her once, at open house.


Last updated August 27, 2016


Deleted user August 27, 2016

Which means you have a heart and care. You are a wonderful teacher nd a great person. Your co- workers lack empathy and sensitivity. They should find some other line of work and do their students a huge favor . That child has something bad going on at home. Usually when the kid ends up in treatment , it's the parents who belong there more :-(

dream seeker Deleted user ⋅ August 27, 2016

I've only met mom once, and we found out that he's had a counselor before. I'm sure there's more than we know going on. She moved from a good school in the neighboring parish. Where they live, they're zoned for another school in our parish, but it's not a good one. It's an old school with a large African American population. (They're African American, too.) My principal asked her to tour the school and give it a chance before coming to ours. Mom came back and said her kids deserved a much better school. She's trying to raise respectful, caring kids. He's not allowed to let his pants slack, cuss, get an attitude, etc. Because of the way he behaves, he gets teased by other kids. Because of the things he did last night, she said she had to bring him to the hospital. She's trying to raise 4 other kids, and he was putting everyone in danger. (He poured gasoline over the yard and tried to set it on fire. )

Deleted user dream seeker ⋅ August 27, 2016

Oh my gosh. That sounds like his Mom is trying. Wonder who else he is coming into contact with ? Setting fires is definitely a sign of deep seated anger and frustration .

terriberri August 27, 2016

this is awful, i'm so sorry, and i understand that you can't just disconnect. how could they? these are children...troubled or not. there is so much promise, and so much inside them. to see them in pain...is hard. i will pray for him.

dream seeker terriberri ⋅ August 27, 2016

Thank you, sweet friend.

Jigger August 27, 2016

It heartens me, knowing all the ways you're there for your kids. Poor little guy.

Small Town Girl August 29, 2016

Oh my gosh! Way, way to young! I dont even know that I knew what suicide was at that age. Or at least definitely couldn't completely understand the magnitude of it. This poor little guy! What he must be going through at such a young age to want to end it? These are supposed to be the best year of their lives! Children these days just dont have any innocence. :(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.