My Daddys Peacoat Jacket in Dance like no one is watching!

  • Aug. 26, 2016, 4:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Good afternoon, I got back from my parents yesterday later afternoon....I had a good visit with them, except it’s heartbreaking seeing my momma trying to walk…I feel angry towards M for driving in that condition and almost killing her[or anyone else] I don’t even wanna talk about if she had been in her small car.
More on that later.

My dad gave me a very precious gift, not even my mom knew he was going to do this. He gave me his Denim Peacoat jacket that he got when he first started working at the Bethlehem mines in 1971…he wore that jacket nearly everyday.

This Jacket is going on 50 years old…I will cherish it always…I had no clue about this…nice surprise.

I’m taking vacation days, but kinda hard to enjoy from the pain I’m in…my latest snafu is from almost falling out front of Dollar General. I had some heavy stuff in a cart, as I was about to step off the curb, my foot got hung in between the wheel and I almost fell, but caught myself…it’s really caused me more pain in addition to what I was already having…ugh!
I’m trying to ice down from time to time.

Have a great day friends,♥


Anaiss August 26, 2016

I remember when pea coats were the big thing. I'm sure your dad's will always mean a lot to you. I'm so sorry about your almost-fall. I've read two diaries in the last few days where the author fell -- glad you caught yourself but that can still hurt.

crystal butterfly August 26, 2016

Those twists and saves from a fall are sometimes almost or even worse than the fall. Hope those aches and pains ease up soon. You got a wonderful gift from your father.

Deleted user August 26, 2016

The coat sounds neat!

FormerlyMe August 27, 2016

I had my grandfather green denim peacoat from Bartlett trees. I was amazed at how tiny he was, since dad was so tall. I passed it on to my niece several years ago.

Ann1107 August 27, 2016

What a precious gift from your dad! I would give anything to have something like that.

Sorry about your almost fall. I'm sure trying to stop the fall caused a lot of pain. Keep with the icing up.

God bless your sweet Mom. Prayers for you and your family.

middle age pearl August 27, 2016

What a wonderful Dad you have to give you his peacoat. Good memory of his early years!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.