Anyone need something crocheted? in One day at a time

  • Jan. 8, 2014, 5:41 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sooo bored at work. My normal pace is pretty fast supplemented with periods of facebook/news/diary surfing. I'm kind of doing the opposite today but even looking at peoples cat pics on FB gets a bit dull after a while. I do have a lot of data entry to do, but it is boring as all hell. Not only is it boring but bosses want us to enter it into two systems (one of which is never ever referenced - but that is how they roll around her.

Christmas was "ok". Time has passed so I can talk about this now unemotionally. (reasonably). My 23 year old neice attempted suicide for the second time on 13 December. It wasn't a "cry for help", it was a genuine leaving attempt. My other niece (25) went home ill and discovered her, and thankfully they live one block from the ambulance station so help was quickly at hand. As a result of that attempt (and the note she left) she spent the following 10 days in a psych unit at the local hospital. She is an addict (mainly alcohol but also any drugs she can lay her hands on). She has now been diagnosed with servere borderline personality disorder. Tomorrow she goes to rehab for 10 weeks to deal with the substance abuse, and will be under psychiatric care as well. It's put a huge strain on my Brother and his family but in a way we are all relieved that she finally has a specified diagnosis (up till now she has just been treated for depression). She is my God daughter, and was very close to Michel (kindred spirits in a way). I know she misses him a lot, and at times had made me feel that she would prefer him to be here than me. Anyway despite all of that (or maybe because), Christmas day was quite nice. We were all under instruction to stay calm and there was no alchohol so none of the ugly bickering that seems to come from that.

Mentally I think I have gone back into survival mode. I know when I go through it because I tend to shut myself off and keep with my keep busy mantra - my house is spotless, and I have been crocheting, beading, cleaning cupboards you name it.

Meh, I don't even feel like wasting the typing effort on those "men" in my life. Richard has pulled one of his disappearing acts. We haven't talked since Christmas day. He told me that his brother (the nutcase I used to room with) has a girlfiend and (in his words) "she is a fatty". The second he said that I felt like I got an insight straight into his soul, and certainly how he sees me.
If I was describing someone (other than myself of course) fat wouldn't even feature in the top 10 words I would use to define them. Keith is in town this week, but I have only seen him once. He is good at talking the talk, but not so good at walking the walk.

Ya know, despite all this I am fairly upbeat. The guys annoy the shit out of me, but unlike the old (pre-married) me, I'm not blaming myself. If Richard thinks that fat girls don't deserve girlfriends he can go fuck himself. News flash - not a huge queue lining up for balding, gympie guys who live with their Mummy's.......

Happy New Year to you my friends Rxxxx


FormerlyMe January 09, 2014

hugs.

Silent Echo/Quiet Storm January 29, 2014

lost my hubby 5.5 years ago. i have absolutely NO desire to have another man in my life at all. raymond was great and i find that over the past 5.5 years, i enjoy being alone. my life is just fine now. i'm in control of the remote, the thermostat, i can eat what i want when i want if i want. no real need to cook if i don't want to. i can get up in the middle of the night and run the vacuum cleaner and not worry about waking anyone. i can move the furniture if i want. why would i want a man to come into MY home and have him think he can tell me what to do? nope, not gonna happen.

balding gympie guys... main reason why i'm not interested anymore.

prayers for your niece.

so many men just see a body when they see a woman. they don't take the time to get to know 'her' before they label her body.

take care,

Indoorkitty January 30, 2014

It was awful for those poor people. Cars have been abandoned and will be picked up today. The city is still in "crisis" But I was able to make it into work today.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.