Water, water everywhere. in All or nothing.

  • Aug. 22, 2016, 12:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m sure most have heard about the flood in Louisiana, unless you’re in a cave.
My entire family is spread around in Baton Rouge, Denham Springs, Walker, Livingston, and Amite. The majority of them have lost everything, and I’m 3,000 miles away. I’m used to being there during disasters, but I can’t be there this time. Places that never required flood insurance, places that have never flooded, were completely under water. The house I grew up in, in the Woodland Ridge neighborhood in Baton Rouge, is gone. It’s silly to cry over a house I haven’t lived in since I was 8, but that was MY fucking house.
My friend created a Go Fund Me page to help my family and friends because FEMA is denying so many people, it’s insane. So if anyone is interested in donating, or even just sharing the link with others, let me know and I’ll give it to you.


Deleted user August 23, 2016

I am so sorry. It's a disaster of devestating porportions .

Spilledperfume August 23, 2016

I'm so sorry to hear about your family's loss. Can FEMA help them in any way? They were just on the news talking about the flood and how FEMA would be helping.

Behind.Blue.Eyes Spilledperfume ⋅ August 24, 2016

FEMA has denied all 5 of my cousins that applied for aid, with no reason given. It's pathetic the way they're handling this.

Spilledperfume Behind.Blue.Eyes ⋅ August 24, 2016

I hate hearing that when they're constantly on the news saying that they're helping everyone and then they ask for donations.

Behind.Blue.Eyes Spilledperfume ⋅ August 25, 2016

They're doing a bait & switch thing - deny for disaster relief funds, but immediate approval for a loan, and if they can't afford to pay the loan back they'll lose everything all over again.
The Red Cross is throwing out anything that doesn't come from a company they have a contract with, they're throwing out food, clothes, household items, it's insane.

Spilledperfume Behind.Blue.Eyes ⋅ August 25, 2016

That's such a disgrace.

Mr. Mofo August 28, 2016

How the hell did I miss this entry? I am sorry you and your family have to deal with such chaos....that doesn't mean you get to grab my ass.

Behind.Blue.Eyes Mr. Mofo ⋅ August 30, 2016

Yes it does.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.